Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I replaced the corn with black beans as someone had done. I included some carrots as well. I cooked on the slow cooker for 6 hours on high. I added a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce too! It turned out great and had a nice taste to it. We actually liked it better than regular beef stew. Had a nice flavor to it. Would make this again. Perfect for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent as it was written. I added lots of extra carrots and used Better than Beef Base and water instead of broth (I had none). I also added a can of rinsed black beans as others had suggested and eliminated the corn. The pork came out so incredibly tender. The whole family loved it and I have two picky kids aged 4 and 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Erickson
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this! I did add extra veggies like carrots and celery. It wasn't as thick as I would have liked it to be so I added an extra can of cream of mushroom and a packet of brown gravy about 30 min. Before it was done. I cooked it on high for about 4 1\2 hours. It was delicious and I well definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very nice! As with most slow cooker recipes, this is a very adapting and forgiving dish. My note of caution is this: like another person, I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes, and it turned the slurry pink. The final product was dark pink instead of that red in the photo. Tasted fine, but I can see that being a problem if you have picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
The whole family loved it, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Peppers overtook the flavour, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
When tasting during the cooking process it tasted *wonderful*. However, I must have overcooked it. When I tasted it the next morning (after cooking from 6pm to 11pm the evening before, disconnecting the crock pot, then tasting the next morning)it tasted tart -- like I had added vinegar to it. I finally got the tartness to calm down by adding another can of mushroom soup, parsley, more garlic (which cures *everything* :D) cayenne pepper, and a little sugar. Next time I make this dish, I will cook just until the potatoes are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
A very flavorful and hearty stew I did change it a bit and substituted carrots and celery for the peppers and instead of stewed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles family loved it! Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed the recipe ingredients, but I altered the cook time to 8 hours on low as I use my crock pot when I am working all day. It came out great and I've made it a few times already. The family likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This has been a family favorite since I discovered it on All Recipes a few years ago. I make it once a month and often serve it to guests. We eat the stew with cornbread on the side. Yum! I usually add some carrots. Also, I peel and cube a couple of potatoes instead of the 8 red potatoes. My slow cooker is small, and it barely fits this stew. Instead, I simmer it covered on the stove for 45 minutes. Don't forget to stir occasionally if you cook it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States