Savory Party Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Not too shabby on its own but it could use some tweaking. I recommend getting the cheese at the deli -- you can get much thinner and more consistent slices that way. I also recommend going half butter half olive oil, and mix in some onion powder, garlic powder, dried basil, and dried parsley to taste before drizzling onto the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Sorry - - We were not fans of this recipe at all. I made the recipe exactly as written, and it was terribly bland. Maybe pepper jack cheese would have helped? It needed some ZING (garlic, hot sauce, something.) All in all, I had high hopes for this appetizer, but we were very disappointed. I'm just glad I made it for my husband first before serving to guests. Sorry, Kay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe has been a standard on New Year's Eve for several years, and there's a good reason--it's delicious!!! Everyone absolutely loves it! Over the years, I've learned that I only need about 1/2 the butter, although I've never had complaints when I go all in, either. I also use pepper jack instead of plain monterey jack--it adds just a little bit of spice. This recipe ALWAYS turns out great, and it's ALWAYS a crowd-pleaser. Make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I had it at a baby shower the other day and it was a huge hit. People huddled around it til it was gone. The person who made it used hawaiian bread and it was perfection. I am making it tomorrow for a New Year's Eve party. I can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My local bakery didn't have the sourdough that wasn't already sliced. So I cut the already sliced loaf into little squares, coated with the butter/onion mix. I also added salt and garlic powder into the mixture. I added shredded Monterey Jack cheese, baked for about 10 minutes, then broiled for 5. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
SO easy and SO delicious... it went over so well at a party. It's fun to pull apart the pieces of bread to munch on! Just something about it... I'd recommend cutting it as close to the base as possible otherwise you'll end up with a sizable chunk of uneaten bread at the bottom. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
You won't believe how good this is. We made it for a game night and it was an huge hit. we made two and the 12 people finished off all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This appetizer is addicting! Simple ingredients and little effort make for a perfect addition to any casual party. (where guests aren't afraid to use their fingers!) Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was soooooooo good! I made it for a get together with 8 people and we finished it pretty quick. I only used half the butter and cheese (and it was still plenty). Next time I will probably eliminate the butter altogether. Once the cheese melts, it's dripping with oil. I also added 1 tsp of garlic salt to the butter/onion mixture. Yum! I look forward to experimenting with different kinds of cheese and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I have made this twice in a week and it is fabulous. I've used a large french loaf as well as a round sourdough loaf. It would be hard to say which is my favorite. Once I mixed minced garlic with my butter and one I sprinked garlic salt over the top and in the cracks. Both were a huge hit. Also I used pepperjack cheese both times. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States