Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Although I did add more onion and cheddar than called for with the additions of my usual standby's (garlic and onion powders) we all found this bread to be quite good. I could see how this would also be wonderful as either muffins or rolls. I loved the fact that I could make a tastey quick bread that didn't entail the usual hours I spend on making traditional breads. Carol, my family thanks you for this delicious and easy bread that they dunked into their soup to get up every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I love this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Not what I'd call savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Per other reviews, I added a dash of garlic powder and a dash of Italian seasoning to the batter. The bread smelled great but I'm not sure how we liked it as a loaf. I think these could possibly make great biscuits, which is what I think I'll make them into if I try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Delicious. The texture was a bit different from other breads - almost cakelike (probably due to the egg). It was quite moist. Followed directions, except that I topped with mozzarella instead of cheddar because I only had one bag of cheddar defrosted. I also used 1/4c yellow onion and 1/4c red. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Very popular item! I think that it could use a bit more cheese in the bread. It could also use a kick with some added garlic and other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Simple and delicious! I recommend using red onion for flavor. Used almost double cheese, too, and the texture was still great. I'll double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This bread was really good! I made it in one of my nonstick cake pans, so I didn't need to grease it. Also, I added some garlic, and a little bit more baking powder, so it was really fluffy. I served it with a beef pot pie and we loved it. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States