Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a nice quick bread. I added a little garlic powder as others did & I needed a couple extra tablespoons of milk as it seemed a little dry. I baked it in a loaf pan & it sliced really well. I think this recipe would also make good drop biscuits. Thanks for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is one of the staple bread recipes in our family. Easy to make...completely delicious, we all look forward to the once a week I make it. The only change I made is to turn it into biscuits instead of bread. Other than that, I've used it so many ways... Shallots and gouda instead of cheddar and onion. Add bacon or sausage. ANYTHING. It always works and is always incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very good recipe. I added a couple of pressed cloves of garlic to the onion before cooking it. And it stands up well to the addition of some roasted, peeled red chiles. This bread is good as it is but adding other things does not detract from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverta, California, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
very crumbly- great flavor, but strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
i liked this recipe, but not as a bread. it has the texture of a biscuit, so i will make it again in a muffin tin or just as small mounds on a cookie sheet as biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Suh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
It's raining in Dayton , Ohio and the pantry is bare. I'm making an italian dish for dinner and wanted a bread to go with it. No Onion or cheddar cheese in the house. But i do have a head of garlic and a bag of four cheese mexican blend. Guess what? Saute the garlic, add the mexican cheese, and this bread is STILL amazing!!! Never can tell what will be born out of necessity and the reluctance to go out in a rainstorm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I wanted a bread for dinner tonight that wouldn't take too long to make. This fit the bill perfectly. It reminded me of cheese scones. My only criticism is that it was a little bit salty but very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Surprisingly dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I thought this was really good, not like anything I had ever had before. Great texture and flavor, not too difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States