Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by M Ocaranza
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband loves this bread!! The texture is kind of cakey, but it's moist. I usually ad some other spices, garlic, and more onions and cheese to make it even more flavorful. Thank you Carol, we will be doing this one again and again!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ocaranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wow--this is so good! I was looking for something I could make with what I had in my kitchen, which wasn't much! I made it as is with yellow onion and the kids and I loved it! I bet it would also be good with sliced olives, spicy sausage, and/or jalapenos mixed in, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Really easy to make - i added bacon, thyme and rosemary for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent and easy. Made it to have with clam chowder. I added thyme and savory. Next time I will add some onion powder and garlic powder for a variation. Will definitely make to have with salads and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty and easy. Would be very easy to try different cheeses, add different herbs/spices etc. Will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this to go with a spicy Isreali Couscous and chicken soup. I cooked it in a 9" round pan because that is all I had. I would cut the salt IN HALF. This has to be the saltiest bread I have ever eaten! 1 teaspoon is wayyy to much for 1.5 cups of flour in my opinion. The more carmelized the onions the richer the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Recipe !!!!! I loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this today and it was excellent! I mostly followed the recipe, but I doubled the amount of onion and added a Tbsp of onion powder to deepen the oniony flavor. I also added about 1/3 cup minced parsley to round out the flavors. I made it with white cheddar cheese and it was lovely. Those who said it was dry may have over baked it. I used a 9" square pan and it was perfect in just 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it was SOOO easy and had lots of flavor. Next time will add even more garlic powder - I simply sprinkled some on top last minute. Kinda reminded me of Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good, I served it with ham. Was a bit dry but made great sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyle, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States