Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I baked this bread this past Saturday, and it came out great. I made it according to the recipe, with no mods, and my wife and I loved it. I used it in an appetizer... sliced long slices of the bread, buttered both sides and toasted in a stovetop pan, then coated with brown mustard, layered thinly sliced roast beef on it, and topped with salt, freshly ground black pepper, and provolone cheese. It also went well with home-made potato soup. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Nice, easy bread. I doubled the onion and only had mild cheddar, so I used that. Served with Tomato Barley Soup from this site, and it was the perfect addition. Thanks for sharing, Carol. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness---so good and even better the next day. I doubled the onions, added some Italian seasoning, replaced the cheddar that was stirred into the batter with Parm and sprinkled shredded Mozz on the top about 10 min before it was done. It was perfectly done in 20 min. Even better than Red Lobster's Cheddar Bay Biscuits. I will serve this with our Christmas Day Scampi dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Grand daughter (9 yrs. old) helped make this easy and tasty bread. I did add some garlic powder to recipe. Very nice texture and smell. Went very well with the chili I made. I can see playing with different spices when I make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Not sure how to rate this. I guess it serves me right for not reading reviews before making it. I expected bread, and instead it was a biscuit. Now, once your expecting something, it is hard to change how you feel about it, right? All that being said, I did like the biscuit (bread). It was a bit dry for me, however. I would rate it between a 3 and a 4. But may be due to my expectations. (oh and I added some garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Loved loved loved this bread. Delicious and cheesy and oniony and really really good. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was good and very easy to make. I served it with homemade chicken soup and it was good pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yummy Yummy Yummy .... used sweet onion, red onion and green onion, about 1 and 1/2 cups, italian spices, both garlic and onion powder, black olives, cheddar and havarti cheese about 3 cups total .... did I say YUMMY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great recipe with lots of room for variations, but definitely too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M Ocaranza
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband loves this bread!! The texture is kind of cakey, but it's moist. I usually ad some other spices, garlic, and more onions and cheese to make it even more flavorful. Thank you Carol, we will be doing this one again and again!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ocaranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States