Savory Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I agree with those of the reviewers that found the sauce a bit bland - however, I added the recommended garlic powder, some seasoning salt, about a tbsp of soy sauce and the taste was dramatically improved. I served the gravy over buttermilk biscuits for a vegetarian version of the classic sausage gravy and biscuits breakfast and my boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made this recipe and loved it! The flavor is great! I tried it over steak and with angel hair pasta, it was wonderful both ways. This has quickly become my favorite mushroom sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
i liked this recipe. I used fat free half and half instead of milk and I added some majoram and season salt (initially instead of regular salt). I tasted it as it was simmering and noted that it did taste "floury" as another user stated so I added some kosher salt in addition and it turned out great! I put it on steak and it was really good - I wouldn't recommend it for anything like pasta it is too "gravyish" for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Tastes like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Really nice basic recipe, and easy to go with so many things. As written, and as other reviewers noted, it was too bland. I added extra pepper and garlic and basil, as well as more mushrooms than called for because we like it chunky. :) Served it over skirt steaks and oven fries, and was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Okay,after reading the little reviews that this recipe received,I was hesitant about making it.But,I decided to give it a go,following the recipe and adding more garlic salt for flavor.I even added another clove of chopped garlic,but unfortunately it didn't help.It was thick and pasty and would have been good over chicken fried steak? instead of linguine like I served it.I don't think I'll be making this again...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
So easy to make!!I made this sauce tonight for over meatloaf and boiled potatoes. It was really good, except I felt that the basil flavour was a little too strong, I think I will cut it in half next time. My husband loved the sauce. I also made one modification, substituting beef stock for the milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe was pretty bland. It's a homemade version of cream of mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
As others have said, this is a very good base recipe! Mine turned out good after tweaking it a little. I did about 5 TBSP of butter because I doubled the mushrooms, added 1 extra clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp. season salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp basil, and the stated amount of onion. I subsituted 1 cup of half and half and 1 cup of chicken stock for the milk. I served on top of steak and red potatoes. The taste turned out great, the only downside was it was too thick. I only used 2 TBSP of flour, but the sauce still turned out like a thick gravy. Next time I won't add any flour at all. Thanks for this recipe and thanks to all those who gave their suggestions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was delicious! I'm a terrible cook living in an area with scarce access to obscure ingredients, so this recipe was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States