Savory Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I tweaked this recipe just a little. I couldn't find our oats, so I used panko crumbs & I didn't have sage. I used season salt & some Louisiana hot sauce for spicing (not to be confused with Tabasco...won't cause oral fires. haha) In my tomato sauce, I substituted 1/4 of the ketchup with Kraft BBQ sauce (original). This was DYNOMITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was just average meatloaf. I was expecting something more spectacular. I will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I left out the sage, and added garlic powder, worcestershire, and dried parsley. I didn't follow the glaze part of the recipe, so I don't know if that part is good, but the actual meatloaf turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
It was easy and very tasty. Thanks! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is excellent exactly as listed, but I have experimented with outstanding results. Try substituting ground turkey instead. Cut the vinegar out by 1/2. Instead of regular oatmeal, we've used maple/brown sugar or apple/cinnamon and the flavor is awesome. I also use 1/2 cup of italian-seasoned bread crumbs instead of regular bread crums and, if you know where to find it, 1/4 tsp of Jamaican Jerk Seasoning mixed into the loaf makes is unbelievable. None EVER goes to waste, and our 10 year old can't get enough of it! Outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I haven't ever been much of a meatloaf person but this recipe was delicious and most likely the one we'll always use from now on. My younger children loved it which is a big plus. I used ground turkey as we usually do in meat dishes and it turned out wonderful, though the loaf shrank a bit while cooking. A lot of sauce, next time I may try to mix some into the loaf beforehand. Moist and soft yet held its shape. Also, I used some BBQ sauce to get the 3/4 cup ketchup and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I mixed a little bit of the topping mixture into the meat loaf mix. I also made mini loaves instead of one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This meatloaf was fabulous. I've been searching "THE" meatloaf recipe for me and I found it! My first try I served it at a neighborhood gathering and everyone wanted the recipe. Next time I'll probably make a little more of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This meatloaf was ok. Flavorwise it tasted fine. When mixing the meat I was a little concerned it was too mushy. After baking it firmed up a bit but was still pretty soft, and it was a little hard to figure out if it was fully cooked without using a meat thermometer. Overall, a very decent meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Hubby thought that this was GREAT! The only thing he asked for next time was some sort of topping (tomato based or other) on top which is just the way that he always likes his meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States