Savory Italian Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Excellent sauce. Made as written except for the stewed tomatoes. Used diced tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Decent taste, but I felt the red wine flavor burned through most of the other flavor. Could have been because I used a merlot I had around. Be sure not to overdo it on adding meat, or you will wind up with something that looks a lot more like a goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great tasting sauce. I used hot Italian sausage and skipped the red pepper flakes. Also used 1 cup of water and omitted the red wine as I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Love it! I halved the cooking time, since I was using it for a lasagna, so it was going to cook another 40 minutes in the oven anyway. The sausage I chose was fresh sweet Italian. I used fresh basil and oregano, rather than dried. Overall: a savory, sweet and complex result! I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This got rave reviews from DH! I made a double batch. I tried to make it as close to the recipe as possible, but I just didn't have everything so I subbed: white onion for green and sauteed it with the garlic and herbs in the beginning of the recipe, omitted mushrooms because we dislike, did not add the sausage (because I made meatballs), and used half the amount of wine called for. I partially did this because it was an expensive wine, and I wanted to have enough left for us to drink with dinner :) I also forgot to put the water in, oops! so my sauce was thicker than it was supposed to be, but we like it thick so it was fine. Even at half the amount, there was plenty of wine in it to give a gorgeous flavor to the sauce. I will say, don't skimp and buy a cheap $2 bottle of wine. Get something nice, and have the rest of the bottle with dinner. Cook with the same wine you drink! I used one that was 50% each of Cab and Syrah and the flavor in the sauce was to die for. I would recommend sticking with a Cab, a Syrah, or a blend that is mostly cab. You could use a Merlot too, but a blend will add more complexity to the flavor. I will be making this for years to come... Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
A good sauce. I think it would be better with regular onion vs. green onion. A little strong flavored and heavy, even with using a 30oz. can of stewed tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
WOW My hubby does NOT really like alot of pasta. He ate about half of this and made sure to mention how much he'd like the leftovers for his lunch!! This is really easy, cheap, and oh so tasty. Takes some time on the stove (or the crockpot - which I will try next time), but so worth it. I did add the celery as mentioned in one of the reviews and had no mushrooms. Thanks for a great addition to our menus and our budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a very special sauce, extremely restaurant quality. I used half of a regular onion instead of green (sautéed with garlic) and omitted the mushrooms. I also used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead of the 14 oz stewed and sauce since that's what I had on hand. I personally thought it was a little sweet so I might cut back on the sugar next time. Could have been the wine I used...it was a mild red table wine and may have been too sweet. I would recommend adding the sugar to taste rather than right from the get go. Tomato paste and sweet sausage also added sweetness, so I may just use spicy next time. But this is now my favorite sauce of all I have tired! Make sure to have bread for dipping and sopping it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Tastes just like the sauce they put on the Italian sausages at the county fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Pretty good sauce indeed. Used less mushrooms because I didn't have more (yet my son still managed to locate them and deem the sauce not to his liking :P) and omitted the red pepper flakes. And the water. (Figured I would add as needed, but did not need.) Even more flavourful the next day (it's true). Makes a nice sized batch - definitely more than four servings as the recipe lists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States