Savory Herb Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour and sharp cheddar cheese. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This was a great recipe....I don't think the other person who reviewed it understood what to do with the waffles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
My family loves these waffles. The first time I made them, I made a creamed ham to go on them. They were fabulous. The next time, I used cheddar instead of the gouda. I made an Italian sausage and mushroom sauce and they were once again great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These are my new obsession. I ate them with chicken salad and then with beef stew. I do have a non-stick waffle iron and it does need lightly greased when I make these, so follow the directions that say lightly grease. I made the whole batch and froze the waffles. Just as yummy after thawing and putting in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
They were delicious! The only change we made was using cheddar cheese instead of Gouda. We served them with chicken and gravy. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Thank you very much for this recipe. I served under chicken diablo which I'll share soon. The dish is quite hot so it didn't allow the fine flavors in the waffles to shine through. This really makes a nice change out for starches in the meal. You are correct about how these smell wonderful while cooking! Let me add that I think that with the amount of fats in the recipe, it is better served with tomatoe or sweet pepper based sauces to help cut the fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I really, really love these. I made them as written minus the tarragon and served them with some lobster newburg over the top. A great change of pace and utterly delicious. They are great plain as a substitute for boring dinner rolls and biscuits. I will make these weekly with different herbs and cheeses. Definitely do grease the waffle iron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
We tried these waffles last night and they were quite enjoyable. They took us much longer than 15min. prep that is suggested but were worth the extra effort. Our gouda was not a really strong gouda and the flavor didn't come out too much. Next time we will try another flavor of cheese. oh-and you really need to oil the waffle iron--our first waffle had to be scraped out! Once we started oiling liberally, they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have twice used this recipe as the bread component for Eggs Benedict, and both times I went without the smoked Gouda--didn't have it on hand. I doubled the herbs as well, to thinking that this would make up for the loss of the cheese flavor. The second time I used a Belgian waffle-maker, and that really made the recipe. They were crunchy and flavorful, and they'll be a permanent component of my Eggs Benedict from now on! I really recommend that you try these that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Fogerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made these with scrambled eggs and they were really good. Next time, I'll try them with an actual creamed dish. And to the person who made them with spicy chicken--did you read the description?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States