Savory Herb Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have twice used this recipe as the bread component for Eggs Benedict, and both times I went without the smoked Gouda--didn't have it on hand. I doubled the herbs as well, to thinking that this would make up for the loss of the cheese flavor. The second time I used a Belgian waffle-maker, and that really made the recipe. They were crunchy and flavorful, and they'll be a permanent component of my Eggs Benedict from now on! I really recommend that you try these that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Fogerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This was a great recipe....I don't think the other person who reviewed it understood what to do with the waffles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
My family loves these waffles. The first time I made them, I made a creamed ham to go on them. They were fabulous. The next time, I used cheddar instead of the gouda. I made an Italian sausage and mushroom sauce and they were once again great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
We tried these waffles last night and they were quite enjoyable. They took us much longer than 15min. prep that is suggested but were worth the extra effort. Our gouda was not a really strong gouda and the flavor didn't come out too much. Next time we will try another flavor of cheese. oh-and you really need to oil the waffle iron--our first waffle had to be scraped out! Once we started oiling liberally, they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I am sorry to say that we really did not care for the waffles. I made them to go along with spicey fried chicken and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made these with scrambled eggs and they were really good. Next time, I'll try them with an actual creamed dish. And to the person who made them with spicy chicken--did you read the description?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These are my new obsession. I ate them with chicken salad and then with beef stew. I do have a non-stick waffle iron and it does need lightly greased when I make these, so follow the directions that say lightly grease. I made the whole batch and froze the waffles. Just as yummy after thawing and putting in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour and sharp cheddar cheese. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I really, really love these. I made them as written minus the tarragon and served them with some lobster newburg over the top. A great change of pace and utterly delicious. They are great plain as a substitute for boring dinner rolls and biscuits. I will make these weekly with different herbs and cheeses. Definitely do grease the waffle iron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
A nice change for dinner. Made cream chipped turkey with mushrooms, green garlic, & onions to top them. Substituted 1 cup oat flour for 1 cup wheat flour. They were exceptionally light. Next time we might try making them without whipping the eggs or increasing the oat flour to increase the density. Perhaps doubling the seasonings could make them a more flavorful stand alone entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States