Savory Herb Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
It was bland. I even used chicken broth instead of water and doubled the basil and thyme. I added peas for color and flavor. I would have been better making Rice-A-Roni box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good! I didnt have onion powder, so I doubled the dry onion, and it tasted great. The only change I would make next time is to half the soy sauce and just add some kosher salt. It was borderline "Asian-y".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious! Made it exactly as stated. We had it with balsamic glazed salmon and green beans. Kids and hubs ate it up. I used Jasmine rice. Thanks for the quick yummy side dish addition to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I too used my rice cooker. All ingredients went in & it turned out great! I did omit the dried onions as I'm not a fan of those - heartburn. Overall, good recipe and my husband really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My 7 year old said, "This is the best rice I've ever had!" I used liquid bouillon concentrate and decreased the water a bit, threw it all in my microwave rice cooker, stirred, and cooked the same way I cook plain white rice. It came out PERFECT. I was out of marjoram so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a regular side dish in my home now. I've added it to the refigerator for quick reference. Whenever my son visits he wants this rice. Very nice, interesting combination of flavors. For those who don't want the flavored boxed rice variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this exactly as written. I found the soy sauce to be overpowering. It gave the rice a more "beefy" taste even though chicken base was used in it. I might give this recipe another shot using only 1/2 tbs of Low Sodium Soy Sauce. I agree with others the dish might be bland without it; but, for us the called for amount was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
goes great with fish. Next time I will try making it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I didn't change anything about this recipe. The rice is flavorful without being overpowering. I would suggest that if anyone would like to taste more of the herbs to add extra. The soy sauce can be overpowering but, my husband and I loved it as is. We also used low sodium soy sauce as a healthier alternative. I served this with fish and vegetables and it was perfect. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srreed11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Came out delish, I didn't use the soy sauce and added some curry powder (I like to put a little curry powder in most of my dishes). Great way to change up the standard rice side dish w/ a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAdams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States