Savory Herb Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used chicken broth instead of granules as that is what I had on hand. As for the soy sauce, it is a MUST, just much less of it. I only used about 2 teaspoons as we are watching our sodium, but this dish would be very bland without it. I also added garlic. You can really change this up any way you like, a splash of white wine will really add depth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
A nice tasty side dish. I used brown rice, and used the tip a reviewer gave of soaking it first. It came out soft and plump - I'm going to use this tip all the the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I completely forgot to include the soy sauce and this was still delicious. Quiet and understated flavors, yet still with lots of character because of the herbs. I used the dried minced onion but used chicken broth rather than water and chicken bouillon granules, and fresh herbs rather than dried - basil, thyme and parsley. Fresh, clean flavors and not overpoweringly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe as written. I put it in my rice cooker it came out great. Had a nice flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Wow! This is really good ya'll! So long I have searched for a great rice dish. My family and I adore this. I threw in an extra dash of each spice. It is still pretty mild,and I will probably play with it a bit over time, but we sure did enjoy this! Thank you for a recipe I will use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My family really enjoyed this recipe.I added a little more chicken granules than the recipe asked for other than that followed it exactly. served it with grilled sausages. it has a nice flavour without bein to over powering. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
made as is and it is delicious!! WE usually add a bag of peas to the rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very nice flavor. Much better than any box mix rice. Added everything (except soy)to rice cooker and turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOSIEUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I used chicken broth instead of water and ommitted the soy sauce. Also, I used brown rice instead of white. It came out great, just slightly undercooked. I think next time I will either add more liquid or cook a bit longer at a lower temperature. The water seemed to cook off before the rice was fully cooked. Seasoning was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This came out soooo good! It will definitely be used over and over! Being from the south, I increased the amount of herbs. I used a full teaspoon for the basil, marjoram and thyme. Other than that I made no changes. It was great! Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States