Savory Herb Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
A wonderful dish--made it exactly except used 2 cups of chicken broth in place of the water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
made as is and it is delicious!! WE usually add a bag of peas to the rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The soy sauce makes this taste great without making it taste Asian. My new favorite rice I think! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a flavorful, basic side that we all liked. I had Jasmine rice and it was not mushy at all. I was hesitant will all the herbs, and you really could not single anything out other than soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Thiis is a lovely background for a more highly flavoured main course. The only change I made was to cook the rice in organic vegetable stock and leave out the chicken bouillon powder. Any herbs that complement your main course could be used. Thanks for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good rice. I left out the butter and used fresh herbs. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was ok. I often make herb rice with butter, a generous helping of Mrs. Dash, some turmeric, and salt and pepper. I tried this as an alternative. I have to say I do NOT understand the people who called this rice strong. I had only 1 T. left of regular soy sauce, but since it wasn't the "lower sodium" called for, I can't imagine that that alone caused the bland flavor. I put this all in my rice cooker and added frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and peas. Perhaps the water of the veggies made this more bland? Either way, I had to spice it up with my usual Mrs. Dash, a generous sprinkling of salt, and some pepper. After that, we all gobbled it down for a quick and easy lunch. I'll go back to my own "pinch of this and that" rice from now on though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This rice is quick, easy and delicious! I just throw everything into the rice cooker. I love that it is kid friendly. My toddler loves this rice and therefore we eat it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I completely forgot to include the soy sauce and this was still delicious. Quiet and understated flavors, yet still with lots of character because of the herbs. I used the dried minced onion but used chicken broth rather than water and chicken bouillon granules, and fresh herbs rather than dried - basil, thyme and parsley. Fresh, clean flavors and not overpoweringly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States