Savory Herb-Crusted Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was very good. My husband kept saying how good it was. It's going to be a regular in our house. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was so easy to make. I followed the recipe except I seasoned the gravy with salt and pepper and also added some parmesan cheese and crushed garlic to it. I served it with tradition garlic bread and some steamed veg. My hubbie doesnt even like chicken pot pie but he loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casino, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yummy...I added the seasonings to the gravy rather than on top. There is too much flour called for in the gravy and not enough gravy overall. I used 3 cups total and still had to make more to serve with the pot pie as there was no liquid. I also added some sauteed onion and garlic and cooked the frozen veggies in broth for extra flavor. I will absolutely make this again, but will again add the seasonings to the filling add more gravy before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This recipe is essentially what I made last night. (Wish I'd seen it last night.) :-) I used canned veggies of potatoes, carrots, peas and corn. I kept the chicken veggie mixture on the stove over low heat with a can of cream of chicken soup. The step that I also added was to saute chopped onion and celery in a little butter and olive oil and then add herbs and then the flour. After it cooked for a min or two, I added heavy cream and cooked it til it bubbled and then added extra cream again. I then added the flour mixture to the chicken veggie mixture and cooked it for another 4 min or so to thicken it up. Talk about a rich chicken pot pie! I found this recipe this a.m. If I'd had it last night I wouldn't have winged it as much, but I did like the way this recipe is VERY similar to what I did. :-) My family went back for thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Soooo excited to find a recipe for chicken pot pie that doesn't use any dairy (can't have). I have missed being able to eat chicken pot pie for years! Thanks so much! PS: I saute mushrooms and onions, then add frozen vegetables and cook briefly w/the herbs and then add the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a good, quick recipe. Especially if you are short on time. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this recipe last week, as I had a puff pastry sheet that I was trying to get rid of. I didnt have coarsly chopped herbs, but other than that I follwed the recipe to a T. It was very delicious, and the filling was great. the pastry was really great too.. on the night it was first made. I had a lot of leftovers and had planned on packing it for lunches, but the pastry became kind of soft and sticky when heated in the microwave. Not goos for leftovers, unless maybe you try reheating in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina J.
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious. My family LOVED it! (even the picky boy!) Recipe is perfect just the way it is and Easy! But... next time I'm going to add rosemary and celery. Also, I had to use pie crust (no puff pastry to be found in my little town.) but the crust was still delicious with the egg wash and all those herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Easy to make, can cut corners if you use dried herbs & good idea for left over chicken and veg if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hillcrest, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pastry was good. Very easy recipe if you are in a hurry. However, I personally would have liked it to be more creamer. So, I am looking at another recipe that has fresh veggies and uses chicken soup, and milk...this here is a very simple recipe, just not what I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States