Savory Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I went ahead and put the onions directly on the grill - I sliced them on the thick side so I wouldn't have to hover too much. I also sliced a head of garlic and threw it on as well and it was delicious. I started with olive oil and put a bit of butter on before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I cut my sweet onions in half, peeled them, cut a piece off the bottom so they would sit flat & then cut an X in them, not quite cutting them through. Placed them on the foil, dotted them w/ butter & sprinkled them w/ parmesan cheese & salt & pepper. While they cooked, they fanned out some & the butter was able to reach the inner layers. When removing them from the foil, I was careful in lifting them so that they retained their shape. These were a great side for Grilled Fusion Pork Chops (from this site)...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a great complement to any meal on the grill! I tend to use olive oil to lighten it up, sprinkle with salt and fresh pepper, all in a simple foil packet. TIP: Put the packet on the grill when you light it. It will have a good head start from the rest of your meal, which it needs since they take longer to cook through and caramelize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
We slice these thick drizzle with a little olive oil, some garlic powder and paprika and place them directly on the grill. No packet necessary. The go great with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Very easy and delicious, the longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great, especially if you are a onion lover, which I am.. I have also done this in the oven and they are really good too. Also whenI want them in a hurry and very tender I will put them in a plastic cooking bag, and they get so tender so quick. Perfect as a side for a good steak. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Great easy recipe. We did find out cooking it for a bit more than an hour is what is needed. Next time I'll add some herbs or lemon pepper to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Use garlic butter (we like it heavy on the garlic) and sprinkle w/ parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
We use this recipe camping, all the time. Great with steaks. The onions can be cooked right on the coals, as well (just make sure they're securly wrapped) I find that just a pinch of sugar in the packet brings out the onion's natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've done this for years. BUT I add a dollop of 57 Sauce in with the butter. Great grill dinner addition greever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States