Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was great, and very easy to prepare. I reckon it could do with some extra pancetta, but other than that it's perfect. Oh, I also omitted the addl salt as it was not needed, just seasoned with pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
As an Italian quite familiar with pancetta, I have to say I much prefer bacon! So it was bacon I used in this recipe rather than pancetta. Low and slow heat caramelizes the shallots and that mixture onto the beans (I used the more delicate haricots verts) made for a richly flavored, beautifully elegant side dish. That's saying a lot for the humble green bean! The caramelized shallots and the bacon stood on their own and needed no garlic or other seasonings beyond the salt and pepper. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a very good recipe, I added a clove of minced garlic in with the shallots. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I love this great simple recipe. I added a spash of Balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp of chopped garlic. the addition of pecans cooked with the shallots would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
very good. I used about 2.5 shallots and bacon rather than pancetta. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Very nice. I made this vegetarian by using some peppered deli "meat," which probably didn't do the dish justice, of course. After finding out more about pancetta, I might add some nutmeg to make the substitute more authentic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Very good! I had to use ham as the stores out here do not carry any "specialty products" s they told me. Still turned out great. I crisped it, added shallots and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
For convenience, I used frozen green beans instead of fresh. For flavor, I cooked them in chicken broth. I liked the taste of the shallots and pancetta, but I think it needed something more. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Just fantastic. I'll never use any other recipe but this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I found italian green beans (the flat ones) and I did not have pancetta so I used bacon (microwavable type - no fat residue). I fried the shallot in 2 teaspoons of olive oil and added at the end one garlic clove sliced. One think you must remember when using bacon- you need to serve the beens right away or else the bacon will not taste crispy. Great change for my veggie side dish! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States