Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
As an Italian quite familiar with pancetta, I have to say I much prefer bacon! So it was bacon I used in this recipe rather than pancetta. Low and slow heat caramelizes the shallots and that mixture onto the beans (I used the more delicate haricots verts) made for a richly flavored, beautifully elegant side dish. That's saying a lot for the humble green bean! The caramelized shallots and the bacon stood on their own and needed no garlic or other seasonings beyond the salt and pepper. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was great, and very easy to prepare. I reckon it could do with some extra pancetta, but other than that it's perfect. Oh, I also omitted the addl salt as it was not needed, just seasoned with pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I love this great simple recipe. I added a spash of Balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp of chopped garlic. the addition of pecans cooked with the shallots would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! Simple and delicious. Followed the recipe except I used bacon in place of the pancetta. The slightly smoked bacon and caramelized shallots together with the fresh beans is perfect. Everyone commented that they would like to have this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very delicious side dish! I decided to use bacon instead of pancetta since I had it on hand. I used frozen green beans, let them thaw before cooking. I came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
VERY VERY GOOD! Made for our small group and it was a HUGE HIT! Very easy and when you group the instructions together, ex: cook the bacon the same time as boiling the beans, it goes VERY quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a very good recipe, I added a clove of minced garlic in with the shallots. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
awesome recipe! Love how simple this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
For convenience, I used frozen green beans instead of fresh. For flavor, I cooked them in chicken broth. I liked the taste of the shallots and pancetta, but I think it needed something more. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States