Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. I made it first with the pancetta and made it again with bacon. I have to say that I did like the bacon a bit better. I put it on the Thanksgiving table and unlike the usual green bean casserrol that is left barely touched, these fresh beans were gone. This is definitely making the holiday table every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very delicious side dish! I decided to use bacon instead of pancetta since I had it on hand. I used frozen green beans, let them thaw before cooking. I came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
awesome recipe! Love how simple this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! Simple and delicious. Followed the recipe except I used bacon in place of the pancetta. The slightly smoked bacon and caramelized shallots together with the fresh beans is perfect. Everyone commented that they would like to have this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
As an Italian quite familiar with pancetta, I have to say I much prefer bacon! So it was bacon I used in this recipe rather than pancetta. Low and slow heat caramelizes the shallots and that mixture onto the beans (I used the more delicate haricots verts) made for a richly flavored, beautifully elegant side dish. That's saying a lot for the humble green bean! The caramelized shallots and the bacon stood on their own and needed no garlic or other seasonings beyond the salt and pepper. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Great flavor! The beans deglazed the pan and soaked up all the yummy pancetta flavors. The shallot is key. Simple but elegant. I gave it 4 stars more for the beans I had, not the recipe. I should have tried this when beans are in season. Mine were really hard and not very palatable. Will definitely try this again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
VERY VERY GOOD! Made for our small group and it was a HUGE HIT! Very easy and when you group the instructions together, ex: cook the bacon the same time as boiling the beans, it goes VERY quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This ridiculously simple recipe is amazingly delicious!! The pancetta and shallots make the dish so fragrant. We've also used it with asparagus with the same excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Tasty, but too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this recipe for a potluck and everyone liked it. The pancetta was different, but good. I just prefer bacon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States