Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! Simple and delicious. Followed the recipe except I used bacon in place of the pancetta. The slightly smoked bacon and caramelized shallots together with the fresh beans is perfect. Everyone commented that they would like to have this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
As an Italian quite familiar with pancetta, I have to say I much prefer bacon! So it was bacon I used in this recipe rather than pancetta. Low and slow heat caramelizes the shallots and that mixture onto the beans (I used the more delicate haricots verts) made for a richly flavored, beautifully elegant side dish. That's saying a lot for the humble green bean! The caramelized shallots and the bacon stood on their own and needed no garlic or other seasonings beyond the salt and pepper. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Great flavor! The beans deglazed the pan and soaked up all the yummy pancetta flavors. The shallot is key. Simple but elegant. I gave it 4 stars more for the beans I had, not the recipe. I should have tried this when beans are in season. Mine were really hard and not very palatable. Will definitely try this again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
VERY VERY GOOD! Made for our small group and it was a HUGE HIT! Very easy and when you group the instructions together, ex: cook the bacon the same time as boiling the beans, it goes VERY quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This ridiculously simple recipe is amazingly delicious!! The pancetta and shallots make the dish so fragrant. We've also used it with asparagus with the same excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Tasty, but too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this recipe for a potluck and everyone liked it. The pancetta was different, but good. I just prefer bacon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I found italian green beans (the flat ones) and I did not have pancetta so I used bacon (microwavable type - no fat residue). I fried the shallot in 2 teaspoons of olive oil and added at the end one garlic clove sliced. One think you must remember when using bacon- you need to serve the beens right away or else the bacon will not taste crispy. Great change for my veggie side dish! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Just fantastic. I'll never use any other recipe but this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
For convenience, I used frozen green beans instead of fresh. For flavor, I cooked them in chicken broth. I liked the taste of the shallots and pancetta, but I think it needed something more. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States