Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
OH MY WORD!!!!! This is sooooo good!!! The amazing part is we only had time to marinate half an hour!!! I poked the steak with a fork all over, laid it in a shallow dish & poured enough marinade to cover the top & overflow a little & rubbed it in. In 15 minutes I flipped it over & did the same to the other side. I only used half the marinade so I could let my husband use the rest for basting the last few minutes on the grill. This was sooo good I told my husband he needn't take me out to steakhouses (my absolute favorite!!) anymore - he can just grill our own at home!! We used T-bone steaks. I used about 1/8 c. balsamic and the rest white wine vinegar because I ran out of the balsamic. Both our company & us ate til' we couldn't eat anymore only because it was so good!! I served with salad, Grilled Corn on the Cob (also on this site), Greek Chicken Pasta (without the chicken - also on this site), & garlic bread. MmmMmm Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
My husband doesn't like any marinade on his steak. But when he brought home some bottom sirloin I decided to try this recipe. Well he loved it and now we are eating bottom sirloin on a regular basis. I used freshly sliced onions in place of onion powder and I ommited the liquid smoke. I found that if I put everything in a ziploc bag there is enough marinade for 4 or 5 steaks. I also score my steaks in a diagonal grid pattern on each side before I marinade them. This makes them really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
wonderful flavors, we heat (about 1 minute in microwave)the marinade to make for a 1 hour marinade soak time if we are in a hurry. we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
A 5-star marinade; perfect blend of ingredients in just the right amount, and perfect (in particular) for steak. Outstanding! I was a little concerned that the relatively large amount of basalmic vinegar would make the steaks too tangy or “sour” tasting, but instead, I was very pleasantly surprised by the effectiveness of this simple, yet extremely tasty marinade. Following the recipe exactly as written, the marinade did not overpower the inherent flavor of the steak, but rather complimented it very, very nicely, in perhaps a bit more subtle way than you might think. Be sure to use a good, *non*-“light” variety of basalmic, soy sauce, and olive oil (note: not extra-virgin style), as this is essentially the base of the marinade. Liquid smoke is perfect in the amount it is originally called for. Any more than that, and it has a chance of taking over the flavor that was intended by this recipe. Highly Recommended as its original author intended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is a good marinade if you like sweet (ie:oriental) type marinades. We like our steaks more on the savory level then the sweet level. We liked this, but probably not enough to make it again. I even cut the honey in half but it was still to sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I didn't marinate overnight, but just rubbed the mixture into the meat. Then fried it up on the stove and nervously placed a plate in front of my husband. He's a steak fanatic, and doesn't deal with anything other than naked beef very well. He was in awe. The meat was tender and wonderful tasting. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Used a NY strip and marinated for about 24 hours. The one thing I did and it turned out pretty well was to reduce the amount of vinegar. It was still pretty strong. Good recipe, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I marinated two NY strip steaks in this and this is one of the best marinades I've tried so far. I let them marinate for 10 hours instead of 1-2 days and I think that was plenty of time because the flavor really came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
So good. I marinated a 2 lb. top sirloin steak overnight. Nice crust and very flavorful. BBQed for about 25 min. for med-well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
marinated 1 hour in my vacuvin marinating dish. perfect amount of time, over night would have been way to strong and overpowered the taste of the meat. with 1 hour it complimented it very nice. DH LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States