Savory Feta Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have made this tor years, the whole family loves it. I just make one big pie and add a small can of tomato paste or sauce to help with the dryness. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are super good. I thawed the frozen pie crust but I should have let it get room temperture to roll out easier. My boyfriend and my brother LOVED them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband loved this but I did make some important changes. As one reviewer suggested, I simply cut the two crusts into quarters. This saved both time and dough. Secondly, I doubled the spices (except for the red pepper). Thirdly, after reading the reviews and discovering that I didn't have any tomatoes anyway, I substituted salsa for the tomato. This worked out great - the pies weren't dry at all. I added the salsa last so I just kept adding until the mixture had a good consistency. I used at least a half-cup of salsa by the time I was done. I also diced the small onion instead of just slicing it. Finally, I added a small handful of grated cheddar to the top of each pie before putting on the upper crust. While it's hardly necessary, I think that made them even better -- I love the combined taste of cheddar and pie crust. I'll be making these again soon. We have a lot of ground venison and this is a great way to use a pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nettie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this as written, and it was just OK. The flavor was alright, but it was a little too time consuming for the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dundee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Wonderful recipe, and easy to make it your own too. Its quick easy and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
For me, these were too much effort for the results. They turned out watery and did not showcase the feta very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
In normal allrecipes fashion, I altered this recipe quite a bit. I doubled all the spices. I used 1 can of tomatoes (liquid included) instead of 1 tomato. I also added one beaten egg to the meat mixture to make it hold together more. I added pine nuts and garlic. I also put in 1/2 a can of tomato sauce to combat dryness. I baked it all in a deep dish pie crust at 350 degrees for 1/2 an hour. That made it a quick and easy supper. I served it with a salad and asparagus on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I did not like this at all and neither did my family. I made it exactly as written except I used a little less of the cayenne than it calls for but it wasn't good. Nothing in particular, just didn't like it at all. Alot of work and not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I didn't find this recipe dry at all, and actually wonder if other reviewers continued to drain the meat after putting in the tomato, getting rid of all the juice from the tomato thinking it was grease. I used a medium sized tomato, and drained off as much grease as possible before adding the tomato. After adding the tomato I ran off enough excess liquid to keep the pies from getting too sloppy, and the remaining juice was 90% from the tomato and flavored with all the great spices thrown into the meat. I did follow the advice of other reviewers and set the oven to 375, and cooked everything for about 20 minutes. I also ran out of pie before filling like other reviewers, so next time I'm getting more pie dough or halfing the filling and just making enough for two people. Still, this recipe got a great response. My boyfriend says I have now hooked him on feta, and I thought the pie was really rich with the cayenne pepper and other seasoning coming through beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
My husband and I love Greek food, and absolutely gobbled up this recipe! My hausband actually stopped eating, touched my arm and said, "Let me be clear about how much I love this!" I used 3/4 of a can of diced tomatoes and lowered the temp to 375 as suggested in other reviews and it was plenty moist. I used 3 cloves of garlic and ended up using 3 pie crusts but left everything else the same. I think next time we may add cooked spinach to the pie. Quick, easy and delicious with a big green salad, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States