Savory Crab Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
You've got to try this recipe. I made a few changes. On the advice of other reviews I sauteed the onions along with garlic(love garlic) before adding the stems. I doubled the recipe and added 5 strips of bacon(low sodium) and a tablespoon of finely chopped red bell pepper. I used only half of the amount of monterey jack cheese, exact amount of dill and all jumbo lump crab(about 20 oz). I also added about double the amount of white wine(pinot grigio)and butter to the tray. EVERYONE wants this recipe. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronxTam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used a mix of Gruyere and aged sharp chedder instead of monterrey jack. I prepared the mushrooms the night before.I sliced the butter into cubes & microwaved it until it was melted. I dipped each mushroom cap into the melted butter. I accidentally added wine to the stuffing.So,I added the entire 16 oz of crabmeat. I shredded the gruyere and chedder with the other ingredients, & stuffed the mushrooms. I put them in the fridge overnight. I baked them in the white wine, and they were wonderful. However...one day later, I found out something else that makes them even better. I baked them in the oven at 400 degrees. I wasn't ready to eat them when they were done, so I left them in the oven, & turned the oven off.2 hrs later I was ready to eat them, but they were cold.I put the pan in the microwave for 2 minutes and re-heated them. Well...OH MY GOD!!!!! They were incredible...I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I just ate them.It seems that they are best if you bake them, let them cool,then re-heat them just prior to serving them. Adding wine to the stuffing mixture, and marinating overnight makes a difference also. The first time I served them, they were cooked, but the inside portion of the mushrooms were still white, although soft and warm. When I baked them tonight, let them sit, and then re-heated them...I ended up with that really nice soft, brown, totally immersed in butter mushroom through and through...and the crabmeat stuffing really popped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I tried to find a crab stuffed mushroom recipe after eating at Ruth's Chris steak house where they had amazing crab stuffed mushrooms. This recipe was just like it!! I made them as an appetizer for thanksgiving and everyone loved them. Next time they will get the spot light a little more. I added more garlic to the crab mixture and it really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
One word to describe...YUMMMMMMMMM! This was really good. Even my fiance who doesnt like mushrooms loved it. I did however make a few changes. I used imitation crab meat, added 3 large cloves of garlic and sauteed in butter with the green onion and added salt, garlic powder & pepper. I also used whole wheat bread chopped up finely. The dill is a must. I usually don't care for dill too much but it was excellent in this dish. Also the Jack Cheese is a MUST! I also used medium size portabello mushrooms and used chicken broth in place of the wine. I also put Monterey Jack on the top and Baked for about 20 minutes then broiled for a few minutes to make the top nice and crispy! mmm thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
How anyone could have given this recipe 5 stars is beyond me. While they were easy to make, they had no flavor whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Excellent! Made these for dinner guests and everyone really enjoyed them! Followed the recipe to the "T" using 1 can of white crab meat. Made 30 medium sized mushrooms with this and could've filled another 2 or 3. Next time I make these I'll add some fresh chopped garlic and saute it with the onion for a little extra kick! These are definitely restuarant quality. One suggestion would be to fill the shrooms first then just place them in the melted butter and move 'em around to get them coated otherwise they get too slippery to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent recipe! I doubled the recipe and brought it to a party with several of my girlfriends, and they were gone FAST! I made a few revisions, per other readers' reviews: I added 1/3 of a red pepper (finely minced), added some fresh garlic (which I sauteed with the butter and green onions, before adding the stems). I used fresh dill weed, from my garden - fresh herbs make such a big difference in the end result! And I added a few dashes of Original Mrs. Dash. I think next time, I will not add any cheese to the bread crumb mixture - I'll just put it on top. These turned out wonderful, and they were the hit of the party! Everyone is still raving about them, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These were so good! I used imitation crab meat and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Fantastic!!! I made this for friends, and it was a hit!! I did not add the dill weed, and I used cheddar cheese instead, still tasted yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
These were very good. I added chopped jalepeno, garlic and a little salt. It took longer to make than I thought it would. I doubled the recipe and all were gone in a very short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States