Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I have the cookbook that this recipe appears in (Perfect Recipes For Having People Over by Pam Anderson) and it calls for 1 stick of UNSALTED butter not regular butter as the recipe here states. If using regular salted butter just cut down on the salt as other reviews have suggested. Hope this helps....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
DELICIOUS! I would definitely make these for company! As to whether they stay moist, I cannot say...none were left. I did use UNSALTED butter, ONLY 1 tsp. SALT, doubled the sugar to 2 Tbsp., and baked in my stoneware muffin pan, which was oiled/greased with a silicone pastry brush, for 17-18 minutes. (On second try, I tried greasing my stoneware with shortening BEFORE putting in oven, and it worked great.) Crunchy on the outside, and perfectly moist within. The secret is the preheated pan. Mmmm! Served with Ham and Bean Soup II (this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
As the name indicates, this is a savory recipe, not a sweet one. Knowing that, and intending it to accompany red beans and rice, this recipe came out great for me. I had only a small (approx 8 oz) can of creamed corn, so I added about 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup more of buttermilk to make up for it. I was concerned about the consistency of the batter--it was about as thick as cooked cream of wheat--but the muffins rose up nicely and are not dense. Given others' complaints about saltiness, since I was using salted butter I reduced the added salt to a dash, but it could actually use a little more. Perhaps 1/2 tsp if using salted butter is the happy medium. I put in half a 4.75 oz can of green chilis to give it zing, and topped each one with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese to get a crackly, flavorful top. This made exactly four dozen mini muffins. Though they came out of the metal mini-muffin tins crispier, even those baked in the silicone mini-muffin pan have a satisfying texture, chewy on the outside and velvety on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and the muffins were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Some of the reviewers thought these muffins were too salty. I tried them out on my family and we all thought they tasted great. I'm not a big fan of sweet cornbread therefore this hit the spot. They also stayed very moist into the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I really like my cornbread SAVORY (usually I just omit the sugar in regular recipes). These came out really nice. I made a couple of changes,mostly because I live in Europe and there is no creamed corn. Instead i just used a can of regular corn and heated it up with a bit of milk. I also added some more buttermilk at the end because the batter seemed a bit too dry and I came out with nearly twice the number of muffins planned. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was perfect- exactly what I was looking for. I added a little more buttermilk, and cooked it in a bread pan rather than cupcake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Pam's recipes are always good and I was looking for a recipe to serve with barbecued pork. It is definately savory and delicious, but I was looking for a little sweeter so I added 2/3 c. sugar. No other change except putting the batter into mini muffin cups and baking for 10 min. Whipped up some honey butter to serve with, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
An excellent muffin recipe! I really prefer this to the drier, crumbly type of corn bread. I like sweeter muffins, so I increased the sugar to 4 Tablespoons (1/4 cup). Also, regarding the saltiness, I think the recipe may have intended for unsalted butter to be used. I found that with salted butter, 1 tsp is all that is needed, but with unsalted butter, 1 1/2 tsp is better. Finally, I think it would be good to add a note about how thin the batter is! I was a bit worried, so I let the batter sit about 10 minutes before baking (like I do when using the Jiffy Corn Mix, as recommended on the box). It thickened a bit, and the muffins had nice, peaked crowns. Also, I use stoneware muffin pans (from Pampered Chef) instead of tins, so I didn't preheat the pans, but the muffins still turned out great. I think preheating the tins would make the crust darker than I prefer... Try this recipe! It's wonderful, and my children really liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These got rave reviews at my daughter's Kindegarten Thanksgiving Feast. I wanted to bring muffins that were going to be moist and delicious even though they wouldn't be straight out of the oven. These delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States