Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
These were very good and moist...too moist, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
An okay recipe - I have three stars because the muffins had WAY too much salt in them. Next time I would use less salt and maybe twice the sugar, or more. They had a nice crunch to them though! I also added chopped jalapenos to half of the batch - good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I thought these were a little too salty and heavy. I would try it again using less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These muffins were definitely moist and stayed that way for 3 days! The salty flavor is a little strong but the sugar seemed to counter most of that. Good add to a mexican meal, but not the best for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I would recommend adding more sugar if you are using this for breakfast. I also made them with plain milk rather than buttermilk and they were still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These muffins were definitely moist and stayed that way for a few days! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp which was plenty for me. I would recommend increasing the sugar slightly. These may also be good if jalapenos were added (something I will try next time.) A great compliment to a Mexican meal but they need some doctoring if you're thinking about them for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These were not as sweet or as moist as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
As the name indicates, this is a savory recipe, not a sweet one. Knowing that, and intending it to accompany red beans and rice, this recipe came out great for me. I had only a small (approx 8 oz) can of creamed corn, so I added about 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup more of buttermilk to make up for it. I was concerned about the consistency of the batter--it was about as thick as cooked cream of wheat--but the muffins rose up nicely and are not dense. Given others' complaints about saltiness, since I was using salted butter I reduced the added salt to a dash, but it could actually use a little more. Perhaps 1/2 tsp if using salted butter is the happy medium. I put in half a 4.75 oz can of green chilis to give it zing, and topped each one with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese to get a crackly, flavorful top. This made exactly four dozen mini muffins. Though they came out of the metal mini-muffin tins crispier, even those baked in the silicone mini-muffin pan have a satisfying texture, chewy on the outside and velvety on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really good. For a true savory corn muffin, I would omit the sugar (I reduced the salt as recommended by others). I also used canola oil rather than butter. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and the muffins were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States