Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
These were very good and moist...too moist, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
An okay recipe - I have three stars because the muffins had WAY too much salt in them. Next time I would use less salt and maybe twice the sugar, or more. They had a nice crunch to them though! I also added chopped jalapenos to half of the batch - good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I thought these were a little too salty and heavy. I would try it again using less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These muffins were definitely moist and stayed that way for 3 days! The salty flavor is a little strong but the sugar seemed to counter most of that. Good add to a mexican meal, but not the best for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I would recommend adding more sugar if you are using this for breakfast. I also made them with plain milk rather than buttermilk and they were still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These muffins were definitely moist and stayed that way for a few days! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp which was plenty for me. I would recommend increasing the sugar slightly. These may also be good if jalapenos were added (something I will try next time.) A great compliment to a Mexican meal but they need some doctoring if you're thinking about them for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These were not as sweet or as moist as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
As the name indicates, this is a savory recipe, not a sweet one. Knowing that, and intending it to accompany red beans and rice, this recipe came out great for me. I had only a small (approx 8 oz) can of creamed corn, so I added about 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup more of buttermilk to make up for it. I was concerned about the consistency of the batter--it was about as thick as cooked cream of wheat--but the muffins rose up nicely and are not dense. Given others' complaints about saltiness, since I was using salted butter I reduced the added salt to a dash, but it could actually use a little more. Perhaps 1/2 tsp if using salted butter is the happy medium. I put in half a 4.75 oz can of green chilis to give it zing, and topped each one with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese to get a crackly, flavorful top. This made exactly four dozen mini muffins. Though they came out of the metal mini-muffin tins crispier, even those baked in the silicone mini-muffin pan have a satisfying texture, chewy on the outside and velvety on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really good. For a true savory corn muffin, I would omit the sugar (I reduced the salt as recommended by others). I also used canola oil rather than butter. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and the muffins were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States