Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
They smelled delicious, but they were WAY too salty!! It was like taking in a teaspoon of salt with each bite. I think if I would have switched the salt for sugar and just let the baking soda/powder be the salt in the muffins, it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was perfect- exactly what I was looking for. I added a little more buttermilk, and cooked it in a bread pan rather than cupcake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I really like my cornbread SAVORY (usually I just omit the sugar in regular recipes). These came out really nice. I made a couple of changes,mostly because I live in Europe and there is no creamed corn. Instead i just used a can of regular corn and heated it up with a bit of milk. I also added some more buttermilk at the end because the batter seemed a bit too dry and I came out with nearly twice the number of muffins planned. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
DELICIOUS! I would definitely make these for company! As to whether they stay moist, I cannot say...none were left. I did use UNSALTED butter, ONLY 1 tsp. SALT, doubled the sugar to 2 Tbsp., and baked in my stoneware muffin pan, which was oiled/greased with a silicone pastry brush, for 17-18 minutes. (On second try, I tried greasing my stoneware with shortening BEFORE putting in oven, and it worked great.) Crunchy on the outside, and perfectly moist within. The secret is the preheated pan. Mmmm! Served with Ham and Bean Soup II (this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Some of the reviewers thought these muffins were too salty. I tried them out on my family and we all thought they tasted great. I'm not a big fan of sweet cornbread therefore this hit the spot. They also stayed very moist into the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe was bland and flavorless. I'm sorry, I followed the directions exactly except for baking in a pan instead of in muffin tins, and it just didn't do it for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Tasted good but were a little dry. Made with cornmeal I don't see how to stop that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Made a double recipe of muffins, but mistakenly added only 3/4 cup of oil instead of doubling. Thought I goofed,however, the muffins came out beautifully. Maybe the recipe should read 3/8C. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I have the cookbook that this recipe appears in (Perfect Recipes For Having People Over by Pam Anderson) and it calls for 1 stick of UNSALTED butter not regular butter as the recipe here states. If using regular salted butter just cut down on the salt as other reviews have suggested. Hope this helps....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and the muffins were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States