Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was tasty, moist and delicious. I added chopped jalepeno slices for a nice "zing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
"Different" is my first impression of the taste from this recipe. I didn't have creamed corn so I pureed a can of regular corn in its liquid. Instead of muffins, I cooked in a loaf pan. I doubled the sugar, but there wasn't even a hint of sweetness to the bread. It was very "cornmeal-y" tasting. Not bad, but just not a lot of flavor and a lot of texture from the cornmeal. If I made it again I would add a lot more sugar to at least get a more predominant flavor going, and not just texture. With a whole lot of butter, though, it was still good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
these are pretty yummy, made them for a potluck and everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yensid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
An excellent muffin recipe! I really prefer this to the drier, crumbly type of corn bread. I like sweeter muffins, so I increased the sugar to 4 Tablespoons (1/4 cup). Also, regarding the saltiness, I think the recipe may have intended for unsalted butter to be used. I found that with salted butter, 1 tsp is all that is needed, but with unsalted butter, 1 1/2 tsp is better. Finally, I think it would be good to add a note about how thin the batter is! I was a bit worried, so I let the batter sit about 10 minutes before baking (like I do when using the Jiffy Corn Mix, as recommended on the box). It thickened a bit, and the muffins had nice, peaked crowns. Also, I use stoneware muffin pans (from Pampered Chef) instead of tins, so I didn't preheat the pans, but the muffins still turned out great. I think preheating the tins would make the crust darker than I prefer... Try this recipe! It's wonderful, and my children really liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Pam's recipes are always good and I was looking for a recipe to serve with barbecued pork. It is definately savory and delicious, but I was looking for a little sweeter so I added 2/3 c. sugar. No other change except putting the batter into mini muffin cups and baking for 10 min. Whipped up some honey butter to serve with, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Made it with salted butter but added no extra salt. Then I added double the sugar. Followed directions otherwise. The muffins were fluffy and came out well, but they still weren't really THAT sweet and a tad on the "tasteless" side. I probably would add more sugar next time but otherwise a super simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I guess i was expecting it to be sweeter, came out good, used 2 insulated layer cake pans and they were moist. To make them a little sweeter, I warmed up some maple syrup and butter and then they were very good! p.s. in the recipe i added one extra pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
They smelled delicious, but they were WAY too salty!! It was like taking in a teaspoon of salt with each bite. I think if I would have switched the salt for sugar and just let the baking soda/powder be the salt in the muffins, it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was perfect- exactly what I was looking for. I added a little more buttermilk, and cooked it in a bread pan rather than cupcake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I really like my cornbread SAVORY (usually I just omit the sugar in regular recipes). These came out really nice. I made a couple of changes,mostly because I live in Europe and there is no creamed corn. Instead i just used a can of regular corn and heated it up with a bit of milk. I also added some more buttermilk at the end because the batter seemed a bit too dry and I came out with nearly twice the number of muffins planned. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States