Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
yummy, moist corn muffins. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jackson Reeser

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
modifications: i added 1 small can green chiles and approx 3/4 cup of pepper jack cheese. i also used unsalted butter. yielded 24 mini muffins and 12 regular sized. absolutely perfect, beautiful little muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The only substitution I made was using regular milk instead of buttermilk, added chopped jalapenos (yum!) and less salt as everyone suggested. These muffins were good, but not great. We ate them all with chili, but I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was looking for a corn muffin that used creamed corn and found this one. After reading some of the reviews I reduced the salt and I must say the result was wonderful. My husband and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These got rave reviews at my daughter's Kindegarten Thanksgiving Feast. I wanted to bring muffins that were going to be moist and delicious even though they wouldn't be straight out of the oven. These delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good! I didn't think it was too salty at all, in fact I thought it could have used a tad more to really bring out the corn flavor. (I did use unsalted butter.) But they turned out exactly as described, both crispy and moist. I followed the recipe exactly. I'll definitely use this again, perhaps adding in more corn or some jalapenos next time. ADD: I have tried adding 1/2 cup sugar, but it doesn't make a difference in taste. If you want to sweeten it, perhaps try 1 cup of sugar. Or eat it like my grandmother does - with butter and maple syrup on top. Also, my oven won't go to 450 degrees without setting off the smoke detectors, so for me, 20 minutes at 400 degrees is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was tasty, moist and delicious. I added chopped jalepeno slices for a nice "zing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
"Different" is my first impression of the taste from this recipe. I didn't have creamed corn so I pureed a can of regular corn in its liquid. Instead of muffins, I cooked in a loaf pan. I doubled the sugar, but there wasn't even a hint of sweetness to the bread. It was very "cornmeal-y" tasting. Not bad, but just not a lot of flavor and a lot of texture from the cornmeal. If I made it again I would add a lot more sugar to at least get a more predominant flavor going, and not just texture. With a whole lot of butter, though, it was still good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
these are pretty yummy, made them for a potluck and everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yensid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
An excellent muffin recipe! I really prefer this to the drier, crumbly type of corn bread. I like sweeter muffins, so I increased the sugar to 4 Tablespoons (1/4 cup). Also, regarding the saltiness, I think the recipe may have intended for unsalted butter to be used. I found that with salted butter, 1 tsp is all that is needed, but with unsalted butter, 1 1/2 tsp is better. Finally, I think it would be good to add a note about how thin the batter is! I was a bit worried, so I let the batter sit about 10 minutes before baking (like I do when using the Jiffy Corn Mix, as recommended on the box). It thickened a bit, and the muffins had nice, peaked crowns. Also, I use stoneware muffin pans (from Pampered Chef) instead of tins, so I didn't preheat the pans, but the muffins still turned out great. I think preheating the tins would make the crust darker than I prefer... Try this recipe! It's wonderful, and my children really liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States