Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I just made these 15 minutes ago and they are so tasty! I followed the recipe exactly. They are so easy to make and I'm sure everyone will love them. This will be a hit for superbowl sunday. If you love corn like I do...make these. You won't be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this today and these turned out moist. I added 1 can of green chiles and 1 cup of cheddar cheese. I used unsweetened butter and 1/2 tsp salt. I thought it could have had more salt. I used 2 tbsp of sugar and it was not sweet enough. Next time I would try 1 tsp salt and 1/4 cup sugar. We ate these with honey to add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
While my guests enjoyed the muffins my partner and I did not. They weren't savory they were salty. I didn't use the full amount of the salt but didn't increase the amount of sugar in hopes of having savory muffins and yet they were still far too salty. Perhaps it's the can of corn? If I use this recipe again I will be using my own home made cream corn and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Deviant

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Baked up moist & looked great! BUT...I am sorry I didn't listen to other reviewers and reduce the salt even more! I used 1 teaspoon & sadly,we couldn't eat them, just waaay too salty! I will give this recipe another try, but next time I won't add any salt, and depend on the salt in the butter & cream corn I guess! I could not believe how salty this recipe came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Tasty! Definitely savory, not sweet. I used 1 teaspoon salt, which tastes fine. This recipe makes a lot of batter. The direction to "divide evenly" among the muffin cups apparently means "fill to the top." I filled each cup about 3/4 full because I did not want the muffins to rise much over the rim. They didn't -- a full cup would have been OK. (I put the leftover batter into a 12-cup mini-muffin pan, so now I've got plenty of yummy corn muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These tasted great but were a little heavy. I had to add a considerable amount of extra buttermilk to get the batter to come together smoothly. I ended up with 18 muffins instead of 12. They tasted yummy and very buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good texture and fairly moist. They had a strange aftertaste though. I don't know if it was the can of corn I used or something else, but the flavor was off....almost medicinal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
As is, this is a good recipe if you are looking for a moist corn muffin or bread to accompany dinner. As a breakfast muffin, it does not have enough sweetness. I had doubled the sugar and it still was not sweet enough for me. With that said, I think it is a good base to start, it just needs to be tweaked for personal taste. Some other posters mentioned they came out too salty. Personally, I like the saltiness of them, but I can see how some may not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
yummy, moist corn muffins. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
modifications: i added 1 small can green chiles and approx 3/4 cup of pepper jack cheese. i also used unsalted butter. yielded 24 mini muffins and 12 regular sized. absolutely perfect, beautiful little muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States