Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Tasty! Definitely savory, not sweet. I used 1 teaspoon salt, which tastes fine. This recipe makes a lot of batter. The direction to "divide evenly" among the muffin cups apparently means "fill to the top." I filled each cup about 3/4 full because I did not want the muffins to rise much over the rim. They didn't -- a full cup would have been OK. (I put the leftover batter into a 12-cup mini-muffin pan, so now I've got plenty of yummy corn muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These tasted great but were a little heavy. I had to add a considerable amount of extra buttermilk to get the batter to come together smoothly. I ended up with 18 muffins instead of 12. They tasted yummy and very buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good texture and fairly moist. They had a strange aftertaste though. I don't know if it was the can of corn I used or something else, but the flavor was off....almost medicinal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
As is, this is a good recipe if you are looking for a moist corn muffin or bread to accompany dinner. As a breakfast muffin, it does not have enough sweetness. I had doubled the sugar and it still was not sweet enough for me. With that said, I think it is a good base to start, it just needs to be tweaked for personal taste. Some other posters mentioned they came out too salty. Personally, I like the saltiness of them, but I can see how some may not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
yummy, moist corn muffins. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
modifications: i added 1 small can green chiles and approx 3/4 cup of pepper jack cheese. i also used unsalted butter. yielded 24 mini muffins and 12 regular sized. absolutely perfect, beautiful little muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The only substitution I made was using regular milk instead of buttermilk, added chopped jalapenos (yum!) and less salt as everyone suggested. These muffins were good, but not great. We ate them all with chili, but I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was looking for a corn muffin that used creamed corn and found this one. After reading some of the reviews I reduced the salt and I must say the result was wonderful. My husband and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These got rave reviews at my daughter's Kindegarten Thanksgiving Feast. I wanted to bring muffins that were going to be moist and delicious even though they wouldn't be straight out of the oven. These delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good! I didn't think it was too salty at all, in fact I thought it could have used a tad more to really bring out the corn flavor. (I did use unsalted butter.) But they turned out exactly as described, both crispy and moist. I followed the recipe exactly. I'll definitely use this again, perhaps adding in more corn or some jalapenos next time. ADD: I have tried adding 1/2 cup sugar, but it doesn't make a difference in taste. If you want to sweeten it, perhaps try 1 cup of sugar. Or eat it like my grandmother does - with butter and maple syrup on top. Also, my oven won't go to 450 degrees without setting off the smoke detectors, so for me, 20 minutes at 400 degrees is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States