Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
for me, it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These were really good and are pure comfort food! The directions say to boil the creamed corn and add cornmeal but I skipped this step and simply combined the dry ingredients in a bowl, combined the wet and added to the dry, mixed quickly and proceed to bake in a preheated oven for 15 min. I used about a 1/3 cup for each muffin and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I took all the other reviewers' advice and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I also like my cornbread on the sweeter side, so I increased the sugar to 3 Tablespoons. I also used stone-ground cornmeal because I was not baking these for breakfast but for a pot luck dinner to go along with chicken chili I prepared. I wanted a coarser texture - something that would not turn to mush when you put the chili on top of it. They turned out pretty good! Using stone-ground cornmeal means that your muffin will not rise as much as de-kernalized cornmeal, so they did not come out super big. This recipe actually makes 18, not 12. Also, I baked them exactly 13 minutes at 425 degrees, and they were just borderline ready to burn - when I opened the oven door, all my smoke alarms went off. They turned out crispy and buttery tasting on the outside. Yes, they are moist. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made these a little while ago to go with some chili my aunt was making. The store I went to only had blue corn meal for some reason (other than mixes), so I ended up using that. I followed the recipe otherwise. They looked a bit strange, but they were really good. We didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
not sweet enough for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I just made these 15 minutes ago and they are so tasty! I followed the recipe exactly. They are so easy to make and I'm sure everyone will love them. This will be a hit for superbowl sunday. If you love corn like I do...make these. You won't be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this today and these turned out moist. I added 1 can of green chiles and 1 cup of cheddar cheese. I used unsweetened butter and 1/2 tsp salt. I thought it could have had more salt. I used 2 tbsp of sugar and it was not sweet enough. Next time I would try 1 tsp salt and 1/4 cup sugar. We ate these with honey to add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
While my guests enjoyed the muffins my partner and I did not. They weren't savory they were salty. I didn't use the full amount of the salt but didn't increase the amount of sugar in hopes of having savory muffins and yet they were still far too salty. Perhaps it's the can of corn? If I use this recipe again I will be using my own home made cream corn and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Deviant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Baked up moist & looked great! BUT...I am sorry I didn't listen to other reviewers and reduce the salt even more! I used 1 teaspoon & sadly,we couldn't eat them, just waaay too salty! I will give this recipe another try, but next time I won't add any salt, and depend on the salt in the butter & cream corn I guess! I could not believe how salty this recipe came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Tasty! Definitely savory, not sweet. I used 1 teaspoon salt, which tastes fine. This recipe makes a lot of batter. The direction to "divide evenly" among the muffin cups apparently means "fill to the top." I filled each cup about 3/4 full because I did not want the muffins to rise much over the rim. They didn't -- a full cup would have been OK. (I put the leftover batter into a 12-cup mini-muffin pan, so now I've got plenty of yummy corn muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States