Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
To much trouble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My husband loved these muffins! I did tweak the recipe a bit. I used 1 tbsp of black strap molasses instead of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1 1/2 and almond milk to replace the buttermilk. The muffins came out moist and delicious. The molasses only made them a tad bit darker than the picture you posted. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I just made these and have to agree with many of the reviews. They are very salty! I also doubled the amount of sugar and it still wasn't enough to take the edge off, or give any sweetness at all (though, it probably wasn't intended to be sweet anyway). However, they are a pretty muffin with a good texture, so there are good things about it. I will make again, though add more sugar and probably very little salt, if any. The salt really takes over these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Never having tried corn muffins these sounded like something that would be worth the effort. I used the salted butter instead of unsalted and I used all the salt (1 1/2 tsp) I served it with chili. I noticed no overbearing saltiness in the muffins. I love the idea of the creamed corn in the muffin. Our friend said they were good. I might try them again adding the jalepenos and cheese next time. I did over mix them I'm afraid but not sure if it changed anything. They fell apart as we ate them but maybe they all do that anyway. I would only eat these and not bother with corn muffins without the creamed corn. I like the bits of corn in the muffins. I don't want it to taste like a cupcake so I wouldn't add more sugar. I would think the idea is to add salt and sugar to enhance the corn flavor not make it salty nor sweet. Everything is too sweet these days. I like flavor more than sweet. If our friend wants them the next time he comes over - I'll make them. Maybe adding crumbled bacon to the batter might be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestlover
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was really good, but I did use about 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the called for 1 tbsp. I like a sweeter batter. I also added jalapeno to half of them for those that like spicy. The only issue I had is the batter was very runny, but it still was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chevy O'Bryant Brodersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Really, really good. I used coconut oil instead of butter and also increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. These were perfect with a cup of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Yes, a nice savory muffin. We prefer using the silicone muffin cups. Still a nice crust, less sticking, no need to oil the silicone (and yes, the muffins stuck significantly in the metal pans, at least, for us they did). TIPS: 1) Warmed creamed corn in a large metal mixing bowl on the stove before adding the cornmeal (less bowls to clean), 2) added the butter before the milk and eggs so the heat from the creamed corn mixture could melt the butter, 3) yes, using salted butter would be too much salt (just a reminder for us when we use the recipe again), 4) works very well with whole wheat flour instead of white flour. 5) Wished we had a can of green peppers, but meant to add pickled jalapenos and forgot - cheddar might work too? 6) or try with less salt and some parmesan, black pepper, oregano or other herb, etc. 7) or try feta and dill???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
for me, it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These were really good and are pure comfort food! The directions say to boil the creamed corn and add cornmeal but I skipped this step and simply combined the dry ingredients in a bowl, combined the wet and added to the dry, mixed quickly and proceed to bake in a preheated oven for 15 min. I used about a 1/3 cup for each muffin and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I took all the other reviewers' advice and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I also like my cornbread on the sweeter side, so I increased the sugar to 3 Tablespoons. I also used stone-ground cornmeal because I was not baking these for breakfast but for a pot luck dinner to go along with chicken chili I prepared. I wanted a coarser texture - something that would not turn to mush when you put the chili on top of it. They turned out pretty good! Using stone-ground cornmeal means that your muffin will not rise as much as de-kernalized cornmeal, so they did not come out super big. This recipe actually makes 18, not 12. Also, I baked them exactly 13 minutes at 425 degrees, and they were just borderline ready to burn - when I opened the oven door, all my smoke alarms went off. They turned out crispy and buttery tasting on the outside. Yes, they are moist. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States