Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Portions were a bit too much for 12 muffins with my muffin pan, but the taste was fine. Very moist but not a whole lot of flavor going on. It would be great with chili, but it does not stand alone as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very bland. Tastes nothing like sweet corn bread. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bacup1
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Heavy but moist corn muffins. However, they left my taste buds craving the sweetness of country cornbread. I will make then again and add 1/4 cup sugar as others have suggested. Hopefully that will satisfy my desire for a sweet corn muffin. This recipe yielded 12 regular size muffins but I had extra batter so I made 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacup1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These were absolutely wonderful! They maybe could have used a bit more salt, but all in all this is a great recipe and I can't wait for fall to make them with some of my soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe didn't cut it for me. I prefer cornbread that is somewhat sweet. I was able to put chili over it in a bowl and that worked. I wouldn't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Brown-Bergmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
added a can of green chilies and some shredded cheese on top. they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Louise
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is superb! You can taste the corn so well. But as i have read comments, the only thing i did is put 1cup sugar instead of 1tbsp. Turned out perfect, fine balance of flavor. It yields 24 regular size muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Really easy, light and fluffy. Used 1 cup of cake flour instead of all purpose. Dumped 30 seconds melted butter (instead of wholly melted). Also, instead of slow mixing wet and dry, but dry in bowl first then dumped all wet in and still came out great! Recommended. Creamed corn kept the muffins very, very moist but not like cake... still muffiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
To much trouble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My husband loved these muffins! I did tweak the recipe a bit. I used 1 tbsp of black strap molasses instead of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1 1/2 and almond milk to replace the buttermilk. The muffins came out moist and delicious. The molasses only made them a tad bit darker than the picture you posted. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States