Savory Corn Flatbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lon205
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This recipe works really well and is a delicious quick accompaniment to most meals - I also added some fresh rosemary that I had in my cupboards (2 sprigs, finely chopped), and a teaspoon of ground black pepper. I loved that I could chose to only cook it for a shorter amount of time on both sides, giving it a nice doughy centre (no eggs - so safe to do!). I added the water slowly (not sure how much I used in the end), but stuck to the measurements for the other ingredients. Turned out perfect, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is awful, sorry. It is just salty, dry, fried flour paste. I read the submitter's posts and responses to reviews about what the consistency should be be like, but it didn't help. What it's missing is something to make it somewhat elastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Outstanding recipe. The amount of water needed depends on a few variables- I added 'till it was silky and elastic as I mixed it. It would take a psychic detective, not a fellow cook to tell precisely how much water is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aledo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I didn't have pesto, so I just left that out. It was pretty good. Simple and kind of old-fashioned. I had it with some veggie soup and it was a good accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very creative but not edible. Is it missing oil? I used 1/4c water. It just tastes like a flour mixture. I couldn't even swallow it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
We have rewritten the ingredient line for water in response to the submitter's comments to leave room for more flexibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is a response to the last review. This is my recipe, and I can see why it didn't turn out so well for you-- the website administrators didn't get it quite right (they edited my recipe slightly). You're absolutely correct-- 2 tablespoons of water is not nearly enough. The trick is to keep adding water until it holds firmly together, but is not overly sticky. Furthermore, 3 or 4 minutes a side is probably too much-- 1-2 minutes per side is more like it, although it depends on how thick you make each one. I hope this helps you enjoy it more, although it's probably a matter of personal taste more than anything else. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Ummm...I'm still trying to figure out what to say about this. It's....different. It's...pasty. It needed a lot more water than two tablespoons. It is...not good...but not horrible either. It is edible. I'm thinking about using it as a base for taco pizza. Try it...it's easy enough and if someone can figure out a modification for this recipe that makes it a lot better...let me know. However, I am going to use it for a taco pizza base for my lunch, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States