Savory Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was pretty good, but next time I will probably add onions or mushrooms, because it was just a little bland for my taste. The leftovers were better the next day though. It was so easy to make, and I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very good! I added a touch more garlic salt and a little more water and dressing as well to better cover the chicken. I made it over night and brought it for lunch the next day. The bun is much better when toasted. Also would be good over rice. Very tasty, leftovers look very promising, even for my picky other half. =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This has become a regular recipe in our house. I usually fix it at least twice a month. I usually start the chicken the night before. when I get home from work I shred the chicken and add in crushed stuffing mix or crushed butter crackers to help soak up the liquid. I also freeze it to take camping because all I have to do is heat it up over the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe because it's simple and it is versatile. The children and grandparents raved about it. For adults that wanted more flavor, we added our favorite barbecue sauce, cheese, onions, and pickles or jalepenos to our sandiwch. Great to prepare for a week night dinner and then have great leftovers for lunch. I've made it as written, but have found that using frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts is the easiest. I was concerned about it drying out without the thighs, so I added about another 1/4 cup more water. Very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Yum Yum Yum. These are awesome! I didn't have any bone in breasts, so used a family pack of thighs. No other substitutions, other than being out of buns so used toast instead. These need nothing! They are great, and I can't wait for leftovers. UPDATE: This time I tried using a whole cut up fryer, and it worked out perfect again. Served it up on onion buns...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be quite bland and dry. Maybe I overcooked it. I don't plan to make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
WOW!!! I didn't have time to put these in the crockpot so I boiled the chicken in chicken stock with poultry seasoning until done. Then I put all ingredients in the crockpot on low for 2.5 hours to heat. The only things I did different was use chicken broth instead of water and fresh garlic instead of garlic salt since using chicken broth I didn't feel it needed anymore salt.These were fantastic and I definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This recipe has a lot of potential!!! Use garlic powder since it needs no additonal sodium. The broth is fantastic and straining it off to make sandwiches is a wasteful shame (unless you plan to use it for something). Next time, I will halve the meat but leave the rest the same. I will either add instant rice to the broth or turn into chicken & noodles. The leftovers tasted better the next day, especially when I mixed some strained meat with some mayo & pickle. I would make this for sandwiches again if I were serving chicken salad at a big gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
this was about 3.5 stars,,, i liked it a lot as sandwich meat, where you can enhance the flavor with mayo, mustard and cheese and veggies, but by itself, it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I simplified it even more! I used a 2.5 lb bag of frozen skinless-boneless chicken breasts, excluded the garlic salt, used a packet of Seven Seas Italian salad dressing mix and increased tje water to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil. After it was cooked all I had to do was take a fork and stir to shred the chicken. Then I stirred in a 1/2 cup of Asiago Cheese. Served on Kaiser Rolls and YUMMY!!! Had enough flavor that it could be put over penne pasta with sprinkled Parmesan cheese. Young kids loved as well as a party crowd (doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States