Savory Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe because it's simple and it is versatile. The children and grandparents raved about it. For adults that wanted more flavor, we added our favorite barbecue sauce, cheese, onions, and pickles or jalepenos to our sandiwch. Great to prepare for a week night dinner and then have great leftovers for lunch. I've made it as written, but have found that using frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts is the easiest. I was concerned about it drying out without the thighs, so I added about another 1/4 cup more water. Very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I simplified it even more! I used a 2.5 lb bag of frozen skinless-boneless chicken breasts, excluded the garlic salt, used a packet of Seven Seas Italian salad dressing mix and increased tje water to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil. After it was cooked all I had to do was take a fork and stir to shred the chicken. Then I stirred in a 1/2 cup of Asiago Cheese. Served on Kaiser Rolls and YUMMY!!! Had enough flavor that it could be put over penne pasta with sprinkled Parmesan cheese. Young kids loved as well as a party crowd (doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Yum Yum Yum. These are awesome! I didn't have any bone in breasts, so used a family pack of thighs. No other substitutions, other than being out of buns so used toast instead. These need nothing! They are great, and I can't wait for leftovers. UPDATE: This time I tried using a whole cut up fryer, and it worked out perfect again. Served it up on onion buns...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This has become a regular recipe in our house. I usually fix it at least twice a month. I usually start the chicken the night before. when I get home from work I shred the chicken and add in crushed stuffing mix or crushed butter crackers to help soak up the liquid. I also freeze it to take camping because all I have to do is heat it up over the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very good! I added a touch more garlic salt and a little more water and dressing as well to better cover the chicken. I made it over night and brought it for lunch the next day. The bun is much better when toasted. Also would be good over rice. Very tasty, leftovers look very promising, even for my picky other half. =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
WOW!!! I didn't have time to put these in the crockpot so I boiled the chicken in chicken stock with poultry seasoning until done. Then I put all ingredients in the crockpot on low for 2.5 hours to heat. The only things I did different was use chicken broth instead of water and fresh garlic instead of garlic salt since using chicken broth I didn't feel it needed anymore salt.These were fantastic and I definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I loved this recipe although I didn't have high hopes after reading that the flavor was "bland". I was also a little afraid that it would be too salty or have too much flavor. To be honest, I was only looking for a simple chicken recipe with at least a touch of flavor to substitue for processed sandwich meat. I just wanted something to toss in the slow cooker, shred it, and put it away for later. This really hit the spot! It turned into a versatile protein that I have used in quesadillas, paninis, sandwiches, and salads. The first time I made a simple panini, I couldn't figure out what was contributing the flavor, until I realized it was the chicken! I am in love with this recipe and will make again and again and again! I used frozen chicken breasts that I had rinsed the ice glaze off of and garlic powder instead of garlic salt because I am watching my sodium intake. Thank you over and over for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was pretty good, but next time I will probably add onions or mushrooms, because it was just a little bland for my taste. The leftovers were better the next day though. It was so easy to make, and I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used chicken fryers and added BBQ sauce. It was good, but nothing great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I loved the idea of this but revamped it for my aversion to dealing with raw chicken! I used an already cooked rotisseree chicken (which equaled 2 breasts and 2 thighs). Used the full envelope of onion soup mix, 2 cups of water (since the chicken was cooked), 1/2 cup (or so) of the italian dressing. I also added a few chopped jalepenos, salt, pepper, and the garlic salt. It got RAVE reviews from the ladies at my party AND my husband! It will definately be a repeat at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States