Savory Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I was a little iffy about the ingredients, as my family usually dislikes most recipes that call for onion soup. Still, it sounded interesting, and was something new and different to put on the dinner table. I am so glad I decided to try it! Even my picky daughter had seconds. My husband liked it so well that he requested it for his Father's Day dinner. I have to give this recipe 5 stars for ease of preparation and for being a family-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I loved the idea of this but revamped it for my aversion to dealing with raw chicken! I used an already cooked rotisseree chicken (which equaled 2 breasts and 2 thighs). Used the full envelope of onion soup mix, 2 cups of water (since the chicken was cooked), 1/2 cup (or so) of the italian dressing. I also added a few chopped jalepenos, salt, pepper, and the garlic salt. It got RAVE reviews from the ladies at my party AND my husband! It will definately be a repeat at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
To break it down, 5 stars for ease and 3 stars for overall taste. Will make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I simplified it even more! I used a 2.5 lb bag of frozen skinless-boneless chicken breasts, excluded the garlic salt, used a packet of Seven Seas Italian salad dressing mix and increased tje water to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil. After it was cooked all I had to do was take a fork and stir to shred the chicken. Then I stirred in a 1/2 cup of Asiago Cheese. Served on Kaiser Rolls and YUMMY!!! Had enough flavor that it could be put over penne pasta with sprinkled Parmesan cheese. Young kids loved as well as a party crowd (doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
this was about 3.5 stars,,, i liked it a lot as sandwich meat, where you can enhance the flavor with mayo, mustard and cheese and veggies, but by itself, it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This recipe has a lot of potential!!! Use garlic powder since it needs no additonal sodium. The broth is fantastic and straining it off to make sandwiches is a wasteful shame (unless you plan to use it for something). Next time, I will halve the meat but leave the rest the same. I will either add instant rice to the broth or turn into chicken & noodles. The leftovers tasted better the next day, especially when I mixed some strained meat with some mayo & pickle. I would make this for sandwiches again if I were serving chicken salad at a big gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
WOW!!! I didn't have time to put these in the crockpot so I boiled the chicken in chicken stock with poultry seasoning until done. Then I put all ingredients in the crockpot on low for 2.5 hours to heat. The only things I did different was use chicken broth instead of water and fresh garlic instead of garlic salt since using chicken broth I didn't feel it needed anymore salt.These were fantastic and I definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be quite bland and dry. Maybe I overcooked it. I don't plan to make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Yum Yum Yum. These are awesome! I didn't have any bone in breasts, so used a family pack of thighs. No other substitutions, other than being out of buns so used toast instead. These need nothing! They are great, and I can't wait for leftovers. UPDATE: This time I tried using a whole cut up fryer, and it worked out perfect again. Served it up on onion buns...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe because it's simple and it is versatile. The children and grandparents raved about it. For adults that wanted more flavor, we added our favorite barbecue sauce, cheese, onions, and pickles or jalepenos to our sandiwch. Great to prepare for a week night dinner and then have great leftovers for lunch. I've made it as written, but have found that using frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts is the easiest. I was concerned about it drying out without the thighs, so I added about another 1/4 cup more water. Very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States