Savory Chicken Livers with Sweet Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I really wanted to love this recipe because we adore chicken liver. I tried it because I was looking for something that wasn't fried or a pate. With that being said, even after reading the reviews and tweaking the ingredients, it was just a 3.5 star recipe with a half a star for creativity. I omitted the sumac because we don't care for lemon/lime flavoring in food with the exception of fish. I doubled all the ingredients except for the liver and added a can of sliced water chestnuts with a small bag of snow peas. I dredged the liver (cut in to cubes) through seasoned flour, pan fried in shallow oil and placed on paper towel to drain. I knew from experience that if I added the raw liver to the veggies that it looks like a horrible pink mess. After tasting the veggie mix, I added 1 tbsp of Badia Complete Seasoning and an inch of anchovy paste. I served it in a bowl with 1/2 cup of chicken flavored rice topped with a generous helping of veggie mix. I added the liver on top so it didn't get soggy too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I liked the addition of peppers in this recipe. The flavor was lovely. I used frozen pepper mix (green, red and yellow strips) and lemon juice instead of sumac. I added an extra tsp. of soy sauce. I was afraid that allspice will add an unpleasant taste, but it all blended in nicely. I will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The overall flavor of the veggies and seasoning was tasty after I added another tablespoon of soy sauce and a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil, but neither my husband nor I liked chicken livers in this dish. I think tender pieces of beef or cut up dark chicken meat would have been better. I'm going to try it again with another type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I also added fresh mushrooms to the mix, it would have been easier to cook the livers separately and then add them. Overall this recipe had good flavor and is a healthier option than the traditional fried livers/mashed potatoes & gravy I would have rather had the latter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Thanks for a quick, tasty recipe for chicken livers. *****Update, the leftovers make excellent chopped liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My husband said this was very good. I sprinkled lime juice instead of lemon juice in place of the sumac because he likes the taste of limes better than lemons, especially when cooked. I don't like liver of any kind so I'm rating this on his sayso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboyspals
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I had to switch it up as I was thin on ingredients. I used 1/3 yellow, 1/3 orange and 1/3 red sweet peppers and I didn't have sumac. I used small pearl onions and added a splash more seasoning. This really rocked. All the other recipes include bacon and I was looking for something flavorful, yet less fatty. What a great dish for high protein, low calorie and fantastic taste! I burned the peppers a bit to give them that blackened look & taste. Thank you SO much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboyspals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Delicious! I've also tried it with hot green chili peppers and it worked a treat. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States