Savory Chicken Livers with Sweet Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I really wanted to love this recipe because we adore chicken liver. I tried it because I was looking for something that wasn't fried or a pate. With that being said, even after reading the reviews and tweaking the ingredients, it was just a 3.5 star recipe with a half a star for creativity. I omitted the sumac because we don't care for lemon/lime flavoring in food with the exception of fish. I doubled all the ingredients except for the liver and added a can of sliced water chestnuts with a small bag of snow peas. I dredged the liver (cut in to cubes) through seasoned flour, pan fried in shallow oil and placed on paper towel to drain. I knew from experience that if I added the raw liver to the veggies that it looks like a horrible pink mess. After tasting the veggie mix, I added 1 tbsp of Badia Complete Seasoning and an inch of anchovy paste. I served it in a bowl with 1/2 cup of chicken flavored rice topped with a generous helping of veggie mix. I added the liver on top so it didn't get soggy too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I liked the addition of peppers in this recipe. The flavor was lovely. I used frozen pepper mix (green, red and yellow strips) and lemon juice instead of sumac. I added an extra tsp. of soy sauce. I was afraid that allspice will add an unpleasant taste, but it all blended in nicely. I will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The overall flavor of the veggies and seasoning was tasty after I added another tablespoon of soy sauce and a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil, but neither my husband nor I liked chicken livers in this dish. I think tender pieces of beef or cut up dark chicken meat would have been better. I'm going to try it again with another type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I also added fresh mushrooms to the mix, it would have been easier to cook the livers separately and then add them. Overall this recipe had good flavor and is a healthier option than the traditional fried livers/mashed potatoes & gravy I would have rather had the latter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Thanks for a quick, tasty recipe for chicken livers. *****Update, the leftovers make excellent chopped liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My husband said this was very good. I sprinkled lime juice instead of lemon juice in place of the sumac because he likes the taste of limes better than lemons, especially when cooked. I don't like liver of any kind so I'm rating this on his sayso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboyspals
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I had to switch it up as I was thin on ingredients. I used 1/3 yellow, 1/3 orange and 1/3 red sweet peppers and I didn't have sumac. I used small pearl onions and added a splash more seasoning. This really rocked. All the other recipes include bacon and I was looking for something flavorful, yet less fatty. What a great dish for high protein, low calorie and fantastic taste! I burned the peppers a bit to give them that blackened look & taste. Thank you SO much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboyspals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Delicious! I've also tried it with hot green chili peppers and it worked a treat. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States