Savory Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This turned out GREAT but I did make some modifications. Substituted muenster for the swiss, increased milk to 1/2 cup, and added 1/4 c. dry sherry to the soup/milk mixture. Sprinkle chicken generously with garlic powder, poultry seasoning and some black pepper before placing cheese on top. Pour sauce mixture evenly over and then top with 1 1/2 cups Stove Top Stuffing mix(chicken flavor) mixed with melted butter. Followed baking directions as written. Sprinkled some grated parmesan over the top for last 5 minutes of baking. Also, using lowfat evaporated milk is a great way to cut some fat and get a real creamy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Very delicious!! After reading reviews I decided to add two pieces of swiss and I used 2 cans of cream of chx and mushroom soup. One can of soup didnt seem to cover all the chicken. I also topped heavily with chicken flavored stove top stuffing mix instead of the bread crumbs. That added alot of flavor. The only thing I will do differntly next time is use the low sodium cream chx/mush soup. My family absolutely loved it. The melted swiss chees and soup combo couldnt of been tastier. Will definetly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This recipe has turned out to be the basis for one of our favorite recipes. I, like many others, have made some changes to the base recipe. I use combinations of soups to get different flavors. My favorites are the Cream of Chicken Soup with Herbs combined with Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic. I also use sour cream instead of milk with the soups. I add some dried lemon peel and top it off with poppy seeds, Cheddar Fried Onions, and grated sharp cheddar cheese. I'd tried it with crumbled Ritz crackers, and I loved it, but my husband is not fond of the Ritz on oven-baked foods. No matter how you flavor it, these chicken breasts always come out juicy and tender. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe with endless variations. Here's how I did mine: I rinsed two chicken breasts, split them length-wise, placed them at the bottom of a le creuset French oven (it's all I have, but it worked just fine anyway), threw some minced garlic and fresh black pepper in there, layered ripped slices of Swiss cheese over the chicken, spread the condensed soup over it, poured about 1/3 cup of milk on top of that and then an equal amount of water on top of that before pouring a bag of stuffing on top. Then I left it in the oven covered for 40 minutes, removed the cover and poured a bit of melted butter over the stuffing, and let it cook for another 20 minutes. The stuffing cooks completely through without being dry, and while not excessively saucy, the chicken is moist and terrific with some plain rice and a side of grean beans. My boyfriend and I had enough for two dinners (it was even better the second day). I would have added a little white wine with the water, but I didn't have any on hand. Still, a yummy, easy, one dish meal, definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe turned out amazing. My family and friends love it!! They all want the recipe. I made a couple of changes however, I used more seasoing on the chicken breasts. I used salt, pepper, seasing salt, and garlic powder on both sides of the meat. I also put the one cup of bread crumbs inside the butter and then sprinkeled it evenly over the chicken. The chicken came out very moist. If I could give this recipe ten stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This was delicious but next time I make it I will mix the bread crumbs into the melted butter and then sprinkle it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is a recipe that we have had time and time again. Its always great! Something we like to do because we always have a lot of extra sauce is serve it over fettucini noodles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
My only change: I added a slice of proscuitto on top of each breast (under the Swiss). Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Very good. We don't like Swiss cheese so I used mozzarella instead. That was the only change I made. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Super easy and very yummy. I made two pans of this recipe a few weeks ago. We had one right away and froze the other. On a busy night this week I cooked the frozen pan and it was just as good! This recipe will go in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States