Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LB
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These come out good consistency if you follow the recipe. I omitted the bacon and added some more parmesan instead. They are a bit bland but you can always add your favourite spices to boost the taste. I experiment with the spices in different batches, my favourite so far have been chill peppers and turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday, but with a few tweeks. After reading the many reviews about it being bland, i added fresh thyme to the batter. Also, i made sure to get an extra old cheddar cheese. Finally, i put chopped ham instead of bacon. The results-amazing! I had bought jalapeno to use, but forgot to add it. Im sure with that too, it would have been even better. As for the cooking time, 30 minutes is great-but dont open the oven door before! Make sure to put on a cooing rack for ten minutes or so as well. Hope this review was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Did not use bacon, otherwise followed the recipe as written. I saw the review comment that the muffins stick to paper liners, but tried it anyway...had the same experience. They were OK, but were sticky and flavor was just OK. You'd think with all that butter and cheese they would be tastier - but, they are just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Pam-3BoysMama, I loved your recipe. Was looking for a savory muffin and read the reviews. To those who gave you one star ... shame on them for not being creative bakers. I added finely diced red and yellow peppers, some Origanum and some pepper and voala! No Bland Zucchini muffin! Thanks for the original post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I liked it a lot! i did add a cooked tiny diced onion to it!, I give it 5 stars! I just made them again!, no onion this time! Yum! So twice in less than a week! The family likes them! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
That zucchini does not have a whole lot of flavor on its own. This is a very good savory muffin with a lot of room for a flavor profile to be added. What I really appreciate is that this a savory muffin that turns out moist. Thank you for a good base recipe that allows for some experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
We really liked these! Light, fluffy & moist. Since I bake a lot with zucchini, my tip is to make sure that ALL the ingredients are at room temperature! This includes the zukes and cheese. Changes I made are: used 1 cup all purpose and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (didn't feel like doing the math); used 3/4 cup finely diced ham (had some that needed to be used)that I sauteed in the butter, adding garlic for the last minute or so. I added this directly to the milk/egg mixture, which was not according to the recipe. Also threw in a couple of finely sliced green onions and a sprinkle of chipotle chile powder. My next batch will omit the garlic, use either bacon or ham, and add more onion as well as possibly black pepper and some herbs. Has anyone frozen these? I'd like to keep these on hand for breakfast. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I accidentally only added half the butter which was plenty. Used gluten free flour, added whatever bits and pieces of cheese and bacon I had on hand including a few crumbs of feta and a bit of extra bacon. My 14 year old daughter is eating them for breakfast every morning. This is after telling me she "couldn't possibly eat breakfast EVER" so I think they are a real success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I have made this twice in the past week and followed the recipe pretty closely. I did make one technique change however which is why i gave it a 4 and not a 5 as i think it is nessacary. After shredding the zuchinni I added a bit a salt and let it sit for 10 or so minutes to draw the moisture out. After which I placed in a kitchen towel and squeezed all the liquid out. Then continued as directed. I baked them for 37 minutes. The texture was perfect. Not mushy at all. I used a sharp cheddar and real parm. I didn't measure the cheese, so most likely I put more than suggested. I also did not add bacon. The flavor was far from bland. Some herbs would work nicely into this for added flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I needed to use some zucchini I had, so this recipe helped do that. While I wouldn't say these muffins were bland, I do think for my personal taste they need more flavor. Definitely a little more salt and perhaps some finely diced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States