Savory Butternut Squash Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
What looks like a great idea does not really taste great. It was sweet and salty at the same time and did not taste great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galina Malina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
After reading other reviews, I halved the amount of squash and used 1 T of fresh shallots instead of dried. I also omitted the currants (didn't have any) and topping (too lazy to make it). I thinned the batter with approx 1/4 C water. I really liked these. The topping and/or currants may be the difference between 4 and 5 stars. When I make them again, I'll add the toppings/currants and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NagiesKitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these last night and I must say they were absolutely delicious! I did not use the shallots, I used dried cranberries instead (love cranberries) and would use just a tad less cinnamon and nutmeg ( I didn't have fresh nutmeg). Would definitely make them again. i tried posting my picture but it didn't add. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I thought I was pretty good! I didn't have any dried currents or shallots but I think I still tasted good. At least my 14 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Hodsdon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used shredded yellow squash that was leftover from my garden, instead of the mashed butternut squash. This worked fine, but I added a little honey to the mixture since yellow is not as sweet as butternut. I also used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I had already cooked a squash for dinner when the kids begged for pancakes, so here is where I landed in my search for a compromise. I followed the lead of another reviewer and doubled the quantity of everything but squash. Sadly, they were way too salty! I had no nutmeg so used pumpkin pie spice with good results. Instead of frying in oil, I made them on my electric griddle. With milk added to thin the batter, the 1/4 cup of batter made nice thin pancakes that tasted like pumpkin pie. They cook a little slower than standard pancakes, but provided a tasty solution to my dinner dilemma. I will make these again, with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Bee in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is well received in this house. The only problem I had was the darkening of the outer crust, probably due to the sugar content of the squash. Aside from that, it is a very good recipe for us sugar sensitive people or thiose that just want something a little different for breakfast. I ate two 1/4 cup servings and felt satisfied with the ammount as opposed to eating two same size pancakes that give me an over stuffed feeling. This recipe is five stars for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These were OK as written. However, with a few tweaks I think they could be excellent! The batter was way too thick for pancakes and did not cook evenly, mostly because of the squash. (In fact, I think these would make great dinner cakes as written, maybe over some kind of black bean/sweet corn bed.) I would cut the amount of squash in half for pancakes. I would also add some sugar to the batter, maybe a few tablespoons. The author says they are not meant to be sweet, but I think a little sweetness would improve them a lot as pancakes. I was quite surprised the recipe did not call for milk. I might add some milk (maybe 2 tbsp or so) if the batter is still too thick. I'm looking forward to trying these again, as I always have way too much butternut squash leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States