Savory Bacon Cheddar Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I skipped the bacon and the dry mustard--I kept everything else the same. Baked at 400*, these were done at exactly 15 minutes. VERY moist. The kids especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
They were terrible. The bread was the worst part. I think the cornbread mix needed to be changed to something sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These were excellent. Made them up as mini muffins and froze ahead of time. Threw some homemade chili in the slow cooker and thawed these out and reheated...dinner's already done when I get home from a busy day at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good recipe. They were moist which I liked because I don't care for overly dry cornbread. I added 1/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion and kept all other measurements and ingredients the same. I made 24 mini muffins. I needed to fill them almost to the top instead of 2/3 full but that was no problem. They came out beautifully after 15 minutes, not a mile high and not stuck together or on top of the pan. Next time I might add a dash of salt and pepper or even vegetable seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm a newbie to making cornbread anything but I wanted to try this recipe with the rest of my southern-style New Year's dinner. Very glad I did! I could only find an 11.5oz package of cornbread mix so I used that and doubled all the other ingredients. I also added a large handful of sliced scallions (green parts only). Also, the cooking time wasn't long enough for me (but it could just be my extremely old oven). So I baked regular sized muffins at 400 for 15 minutes then turned down to 375 for 3-4 minutes and they were cooked all the way through without being dry. This made 18 muffins with the doubling. Next time I may add a pinch of salt to the batter as well, but overall it's a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Five stars due to the fact that it is such a simple, quick and savory side dish! Judging the recipe AS IT IS, I would say it is very good. Yes, it is a corn muffin and thus could potentially pale in comparison to more elaborate side dishes. However, for a weekday “oh my, what am I going to put on the side with my main dish?!” option, this hit the spot; after all, how can you go wrong with bacon and cheese? I am sure that one could oomph it up with more herbs or spice. I would say that tarragon, oregano or basil would give it a little more finesse. Personally, next time I might just add about ½ teaspoon of either smoky paprika or chipotle powder. I think the most important aspect is that my 1.5 and 3.5 year old boys really liked it, which is reason enough for me. I must say that two muffins magically disappeared in the process of taking them out of the over and putting them on the plate…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These are great muffins for busy mornings! I make the mix up the night before so all I have to do in the morning is fill up the muffin cups and bake! My daughter and husband both love these and ask for them regularly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
YUM! So tasty & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States