Savory Baby Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I'm afraid I didn't time things very well when preparing dinner to allow enough time for the stock and wine to reduce sufficiently before the fish I was preparing was done. No matter - this was delicious in spite of it, so I can't even imagine how much better it would have been had that reduction been prepared as it was meant to be. I did skip the bay leaf and I would the next time I prepare this as well - the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
my family didnt like it very much at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
5 stars. Yummy I used bok choy from the farmers market homemade stock with no salt and reisleing for the wine. It was fantastic. This recipe will be as good as the ingredients you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The bay leaf and smashed garlic clove really infuse great flavor into the broth. Do take the time to cook it down because you will have a rich sauce if you do. I did thicken the sauce just a little with a cornstarch slurry. Thoroughly enjoyed this, and it was a nice side dish to an Asian-themed dinner today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I didn't have bay leaf and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lewis Eaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this for boyfriend (not a huge veggie eater and picky) and he loved it...now one of his fav dishes. A def hit! Thinking though of using a slight bit of thickening agent and using the sauce as a stir fry sauce...any thoughts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Schmor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Didn't have time to reduce broth but was still delicious. Drizzled Hoisin Sauce overtop before serving. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Sauce took way longer than 15 minutes to reduce and bokchoy took more than 10 minutes to get tender. I think total time was double than written. However, I think my baby bokchoy were larger than the average bear. Still a nice recipe and we enjoyed it. Thx Valereee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was really good and really easy!! I never prepared baby bok choy as main ingredient and it was great! I used about tablespoon of butter and used red wine instead of white because thats all I had and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States