Savory Apricot Chicken with Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious, quick & easy. I used homemade peach jam and put frozen peas with my rice in my rice cooker. The onion soup mix with the sweet fruit was the perfect combination. I can vary this recipe depending on the type of canned fruit jam I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is great as it is. Here are my custom suggestions: Add green onions and garlic to the oil after chicken is seared WELL. I added a bit of hot sauce for a kick, dry ginger and a couple dashes of vinegar for acidity as well as a little less preserves for those who thought it was too sweet. Topped with a few slivered almonds for texture followed by lemon and orange zest; WOW this sent it over the edge. Thanks Smuckers for this great idea and allowing me to personalize and make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe was easy and so delicious. It was a bit on the sweet side, but that was a hit with the kids. I only had apricot preserves, so I went with that. All in all, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is really good and its fast to make. Not too many ingredients either to complicate things. Its really good how it is but I didnt give it 5 starts because i feel like there is just something missing that I cant put my finger on. Really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes based on our preferences. I cut the boneless skinless chicken thighs into bite size pieces and used Smuckers "Simply Fruit" Apricot preserves. I also added a couple of chopped jalapenos and a small can of pineapple chunks (drained) when the chicken was nearly cooked (before making the sauce). I used a steamer bag of rice with veggies, and made a little extra rice to mix in. My husband's comment: "I'd like this to be in the regular supper line-up." I personally would've liked it a tad hotter, so I will probably experiment with a little more pepper next time, but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was quick, easy, and SO delicious. I used orange preserves that I had on hand, and it was tangy but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was so easy and delicious! After reading the reviews I made the following changes -- I added red pepper flakes, garlic and ginger to the oil before adding the chicken and browing it. Then I followed the directions as indicated and at at the very end added just a touch of ground red pepper. Added that zing everyone said it needed without being over powering. My husband said it was "a do again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Loved this! My daughter thought it was like a sweet and sour type dish. I used peach preserves and can't believe this would be any better with apricot. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Brianne
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this for my folks for a special dinner and not only was it super easy to make, but it was a nice blend of flavors! Makes it look like you put a LOT of time and effort to make such a meal. ;) It was a huge hit with my parents! Chicken was juicy too! For the rice, I just used the chicken/broccoli rice in a bag and it was fine. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score is that it wasn't my thing, but I wanted to try something new. For everyone else, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States