Savory Apricot Chicken with Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious, quick & easy. I used homemade peach jam and put frozen peas with my rice in my rice cooker. The onion soup mix with the sweet fruit was the perfect combination. I can vary this recipe depending on the type of canned fruit jam I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe was easy and so delicious. It was a bit on the sweet side, but that was a hit with the kids. I only had apricot preserves, so I went with that. All in all, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was quick, easy, and SO delicious. I used orange preserves that I had on hand, and it was tangy but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is really good and its fast to make. Not too many ingredients either to complicate things. Its really good how it is but I didnt give it 5 starts because i feel like there is just something missing that I cant put my finger on. Really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Easiest and tasty dinner ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is my husband's newest favorite meal. The combination of flavors is amazing. Thanks for helping me out (again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brianne
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this for my folks for a special dinner and not only was it super easy to make, but it was a nice blend of flavors! Makes it look like you put a LOT of time and effort to make such a meal. ;) It was a huge hit with my parents! Chicken was juicy too! For the rice, I just used the chicken/broccoli rice in a bag and it was fine. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score is that it wasn't my thing, but I wanted to try something new. For everyone else, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes based on our preferences. I cut the boneless skinless chicken thighs into bite size pieces and used Smuckers "Simply Fruit" Apricot preserves. I also added a couple of chopped jalapenos and a small can of pineapple chunks (drained) when the chicken was nearly cooked (before making the sauce). I used a steamer bag of rice with veggies, and made a little extra rice to mix in. My husband's comment: "I'd like this to be in the regular supper line-up." I personally would've liked it a tad hotter, so I will probably experiment with a little more pepper next time, but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is great as it is. Here are my custom suggestions: Add green onions and garlic to the oil after chicken is seared WELL. I added a bit of hot sauce for a kick, dry ginger and a couple dashes of vinegar for acidity as well as a little less preserves for those who thought it was too sweet. Topped with a few slivered almonds for texture followed by lemon and orange zest; WOW this sent it over the edge. Thanks Smuckers for this great idea and allowing me to personalize and make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was so easy and delicious! After reading the reviews I made the following changes -- I added red pepper flakes, garlic and ginger to the oil before adding the chicken and browing it. Then I followed the directions as indicated and at at the very end added just a touch of ground red pepper. Added that zing everyone said it needed without being over powering. My husband said it was "a do again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States