Savory Apricot Chicken with Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I don't know why my sentiments for this recipe are not with my fellow AR friends but we did not like this at all. I followed it exactly except making my own rice. I mixed the onion mix into the preserves so it would mix nicely when added to the skillet and I instantly went to check the recipe to make sure I had the right measurements. The onion mix totally overwhelmed the preserves and turned them brown. Sometimes flavors need time to meld and soften, so I persevered. In the end, the onion still overwhelmed the sweetness and was esthetically unpleasing. I didn't say anything to my husband and he barely touched the second thigh. :( Sorry, wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe was delicious and quick! I didn't have the onion soup mix stuff. So I chopped up a half a onion and I put it in with the chicken. Plus I added a little hot sauce, salt, garlic, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Loved this! My daughter thought it was like a sweet and sour type dish. I used peach preserves and can't believe this would be any better with apricot. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by babyfried
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Super easy and very tasty! Only had onion dip mix so used that instead and it was still really good. Served over brown rice with green beans. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Quick, Easy and YUMMY. I used a little bacon grease to brown chicken thighs and I did not have peach preserves so I used apricot instead. I used plain white rice and cooked up broccoli as a side. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was a very easy, quick, and flavorful recipe. It's a great addition to a menu rotation because, other than the chicken, the ingredients are usually on hand. My son liked it as well so, it's a keeper! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was so easy and delicious! After reading the reviews I made the following changes -- I added red pepper flakes, garlic and ginger to the oil before adding the chicken and browing it. Then I followed the directions as indicated and at at the very end added just a touch of ground red pepper. Added that zing everyone said it needed without being over powering. My husband said it was "a do again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is great as it is. Here are my custom suggestions: Add green onions and garlic to the oil after chicken is seared WELL. I added a bit of hot sauce for a kick, dry ginger and a couple dashes of vinegar for acidity as well as a little less preserves for those who thought it was too sweet. Topped with a few slivered almonds for texture followed by lemon and orange zest; WOW this sent it over the edge. Thanks Smuckers for this great idea and allowing me to personalize and make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes based on our preferences. I cut the boneless skinless chicken thighs into bite size pieces and used Smuckers "Simply Fruit" Apricot preserves. I also added a couple of chopped jalapenos and a small can of pineapple chunks (drained) when the chicken was nearly cooked (before making the sauce). I used a steamer bag of rice with veggies, and made a little extra rice to mix in. My husband's comment: "I'd like this to be in the regular supper line-up." I personally would've liked it a tad hotter, so I will probably experiment with a little more pepper next time, but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States