Savory Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I read EVERY single review of this recipe before I made it b/c I was skeptical of using ketchup with apples. I should have followed my instinct. No one would even touch the apples and we had to use bbq sauce to cover the pork chops. Save your ingredients for something else b/c if you think it looks bad, it tastes worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Extremely flavorful and juicy. Added sauted onion, deleted ketchup, and sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar over apples. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I liked this recipe. I didn't find it too sweet but that might be becuase I served it over rice with steamed vegetables so there was a good balance. My one gripe would be that I followed the advice of others and seared the meat first which I found, after baking for 45 minutes left my chops a little on the dry side. Next time, I'll probably just stick to recipe directions and not fry ahead of time. Also the suggestion to bake the chops and apples over a bed of onions was a good idea and really added to the flavor of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
the ketchup will ruin this recipe! so we didn't use it. add sliced onions to this recipe. (the bed of onions was a good tip!) I layered all in a pan starting with onions in the bottom of the pan spread evenly, pork chops next with salt and pepper sprinkle, then the apples, a little cinnamon and the brown sugar. they were moist and delicious. i would make this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Ohmygoodness.. GOOD! I read the suggestions from the others. I decided on this: I peppered chops and layed them on a bed of onions. Cut up some apples and put them on. Sprinkled w brown sugar and drizzled with reg bbq sauce. 350 in oven until done. It was pretty, chops were tender, my apples were perfect, taste was wonderful. This, indeed, will be a regular in my house. Many thanks. (even better the next day!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I agree it doesn't look the best but it was very tasty. My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
The pork chops turned out tough and dry and the ketchup dried on the apples and it didn't look very appetizing. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I made tis for my family last night.Everyone loved it. I found that the apples released a great deal of juice. After the chops were done I removed them fom the pan and kept them warm while I reduced the pan juices and added a bit of butter, maybe 2 tablespoon, to add richness. Made a great sauce. Thank you. I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
i'm not a huge pork fan because I always find it too dry or tough. This one was delicious! Super moist and tender. I did change one thing though, I put mine in the slow cooker and added a little bit of apple juice and water for liquid. Turned out great! I don't care for the apples myself but the meat was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good, my husband liked it. I used the suggestion of layering onions at the bottom of the pan. I did not pour the ketchup over the pork chops. Instead, I mixed ketchup, brown sugar and some apple cider, and a little browning sauce over the pork chops to cook. Once the chops were done, I took the juices, added a little butter in a pan to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States