Savannah's Perfectly Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was such a huge hit! I made it for my anniversary dinner and everyone raved!! I followed the recipe exactly and found it very easy to follow. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I had to improvise with the coloring since I was out of red. I used Wilton's paste colors in burgundy, rose pink, and golden yellow. Turned out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe! Super easy and yummy :) I followed the directions exactly except for one thing. We didn't have the regular food coloring drops, I use the thick super concentrated paste. So I mixed the paste, cocoa, and vinegar together to make the colored cocoa paste. Then added it to the cake. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was my first attempt at Red Velvet Cake and it was very tasty. The cream cheese icing was incredible - I didn't put as much icing sugar as the recipe called for but everyone raved about it! My only problem was after the cakes were baked, they were very brown on the outside (about a 1/8" inward) and the centres were the bright red. I made the cakes again, but unstead of mixing the food colouring with the cocoa powder to make a paste, I mixed it into the buttermilk with the vanilla and vinegar. I put the cocoa powder (which I sifted) in with the flour mixture. It was still a little browner on the outside, but not nearly as much as before. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Everyone loved it, only made two adjustments baked for only 20 minutes, because i made two layers and it prevented it from being a dry cake. i also only used half the sugar for the frosting and it was perfect!!! will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frannyliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for my daughter's 14th Birthday as per her request. It turned out wonderfully delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and got compliments even on the cream cheese frosting. I have even shared the recipe with friends. Thank you Savannah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Thank you for such a divine recipe,I am learning how to bake and this recipe was so easy to follow and it turned out so good,texture taste and color all perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I just made the batter and followed it except am short on bottle of food coloring...1 tsp of salt is all I taste in the batter? Not sure the other 1oz of food coloring will balance it, seems like should have been 1/2 tsp salt??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
The cake solo was ok, a little dry. I did not like the frosting! Way too sweet, not cream cheesey like I like. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This cake was the most moist cake I've ever made. I am just getting into baking. My boyfriend loved it!! He helped me make the icing( used another recipe) and could not stop eating it. Will make my own modifications and use again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States