Savannah's Perfectly Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe! Super easy and yummy :) I followed the directions exactly except for one thing. We didn't have the regular food coloring drops, I use the thick super concentrated paste. So I mixed the paste, cocoa, and vinegar together to make the colored cocoa paste. Then added it to the cake. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
the cake is what I used, I used a diff recipe on the frosting. It was ok, but it wasn't anything to go bonkers over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was such a huge hit! I made it for my anniversary dinner and everyone raved!! I followed the recipe exactly and found it very easy to follow. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I had to improvise with the coloring since I was out of red. I used Wilton's paste colors in burgundy, rose pink, and golden yellow. Turned out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was my first attempt at Red Velvet Cake and it was very tasty. The cream cheese icing was incredible - I didn't put as much icing sugar as the recipe called for but everyone raved about it! My only problem was after the cakes were baked, they were very brown on the outside (about a 1/8" inward) and the centres were the bright red. I made the cakes again, but unstead of mixing the food colouring with the cocoa powder to make a paste, I mixed it into the buttermilk with the vanilla and vinegar. I put the cocoa powder (which I sifted) in with the flour mixture. It was still a little browner on the outside, but not nearly as much as before. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for my daughter's 14th Birthday as per her request. It turned out wonderfully delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and got compliments even on the cream cheese frosting. I have even shared the recipe with friends. Thank you Savannah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina123AsM
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Not bad but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was my first attempt at a red velvet cake and my family love it. I allowed my four year to assist me with making the icing and he couldn't stop eating it. The cake was very good although I would've liked a tad bit more moisture with it. All in all this is a great recipe,will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
The cake solo was ok, a little dry. I did not like the frosting! Way too sweet, not cream cheesey like I like. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I just made the batter and followed it except am short on bottle of food coloring...1 tsp of salt is all I taste in the batter? Not sure the other 1oz of food coloring will balance it, seems like should have been 1/2 tsp salt??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States