Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very flavorful, and easy. Next time I will use red table wine, rather than cooking wine, and use a low-sodium soy sauce. I found the dish too salty for my taste. This is definitely a dish worth customizing. I imagine adding a green vegetable and onion to the marinade, perhaps green beans. Tonight I roasted cauliflower, and served cheese garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe is SO so so good! It's become my go-to for perfect shrooms everytime, whether I finish them on the grill for meaty mushroom burgers, or use in a saute, or make baby bella stuffed mushrooms. I follow the recipe but use drinkable red wine and regular soy sauce. After the mushrooms cook, the cooking liquid/marinade is like liquid gold....it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Who needs beef when this is available! I do not use alcohol so I had to ask the clerk at liquor store for advice. Don't do that! Just get a mid shelf white wine, not the cheapest you can get. Even with cheeeeep wine this was still very good, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
First time I have ever eaten these and I was really impressed with this recipe. Followed it exactly and WOW. Comes together very quickly and extremely good, had it with brown rice and fresh green beans. Excellent dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is basically what I've always done with portobellas when I'm in a time crunch, so it was nothing special to me, but that doesn't keep it from being a fast, easy go-to. Two notes: 1. For those who thought it was too vinegary, it could be the quality of your balsamic. The longer it's aged the sweeter and mellower it tends to be. 2. Cooking wine is pretty much bad wine with salt added. Never cook with wine you wouldn't drink and trust me, you would never drink the stuff sold as "cooking wine."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've been looking for a marinated portobello mushroom recipe since my boyfriend loves mushrooms and this one is the best yet. I love the sweet-sour tang of the vinegar, perfect over rice and couscous. The marinade makes my kitchen smell yummy. I've made these twice in one week after the BF gave his overwhelming stamp of approval, and I can stop looking for recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Husband and I loved it. Used port wine and 2x the garlic. Found it really easy to put together and bake. Totally adding this to our rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I cooked these with no modifications and they were great on a bun with all the fixings. Also used cut up in some rice and bean recipes also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Here's an accident you may want to do on purpose! I had started marinating the caps, being sure to spoon plenty of marinade into the caps themselves, when I realized I had forgotten the garlic. I minced up the two cloves and decided to put all the garlic directly into the marinade inside the caps with none in the outside marinade. I baked them for only 20 minutes with no flipping. With tongs I pulled the mushroom out draining the marinade but leaving all of the garlic bits inside the caps. Garlicky yummyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Incredible! Great with some flavored couscous on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States