Sauteed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Just joined a CSA and swiss chard was in our basket this week. I'm ashamed to say, I've never eaten it before now. I gave this 4 stars because my 6 year old didn't care for it, so maybe it's not entirely kid friendly. I, on the other hand, thought it was great. Husband thought it was okay, but his hopes weren't high in the first place. I didn't have red onion (yellow worked just fine) and I didn't have white wine (veggie stock seemed to work great). Plus I used lemon juice from a bottle . My guess is that this would be hard to mess up...and I like that in a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very Tasty! For more substance try mixing with cooked quinoa, adding slivered almonds, and dusting with cracked black pepper. mmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good.....this will be in my rotation from here on out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wow! This is delicious. If you've never tried Swiss chard, you should. Just wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is the only chard recipe my very picky husband will eat. He even said it was "very good"! I rarely have lemons on hand, so I have used white vinegar a couple of times with success. I also always use dry vermouth in place of white wine, because the vermouth is shelf-stable and easier to keep in the pantry. According to America's Test Kitchen, vermouth is almost always an excellent--or preferable--substitution for dry white wine. Update: I have made this at least once a week for several weeks in a row, and my husband has yet to complain. I'm even starting to look forward to eating this dish, and I'm not a vegetable lover. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I just received a box of produce and it included a bunch of chard that I had no idea what to do with. This was my first time even tasting it and I am so glad I found this recipe to make it with. It was delicious and easy to make. I used chicken stock instead of white wine, because I was out. I will try it with the wine next time, but it was still great. Thank you! Even though I avoided it all my life because for some reason I imagined it would be too difficult to cook or not taste good, I am now a chard convert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have never been big on cooked greens, but after seeing swiss chard as a basket ingredient on a cooking show decied to give it a try. I ran across this recipe and it is AWESOME. Even my husband, who usually gives me grief about different foods, went back for seconds and thirds! Thanks for sharing this recipe. BTW--this is my first rating on allrecipies after using this site for over 7 years. Recipe was that good I decided I had to sign up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Excellent!!!! I didn't have any white wine, so I substituted vegetable broth. Our family had this as the main course. Didn't even need any meat. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiarakitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an excellent dish even for those who aren't in love with chard (my husband). I didn't have any wine and used vegetable broth instead & sweet onions not red onions. No bitter taste at all & my husband even ate the stems! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not sure if it was the recipe, since it got great reviews...maybe chard is just not our thing. But this got a 0 from all five of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States