Sauteed Sweet Plantains (Tajaditas Dulces de Platano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
his is my second time using this recipe.... used almost forgotten plantains that I allowed to ripen until black....loved the texture and the sweet taste... ate them by themselves 1st day and with corn and black bean salad the second day.......franb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I guess we don't like plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Saul
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I use granulated pure cane sugar and drizzle maple syrup for dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great recipe. It's simple, so it's flexible. I'm not a huge plantain fan, but had some I needed to get rid of, so I did these ultra sweet. My plantains were extremely ripe, and I cut them about 1/2 inch thick to maximize sugar exposure. I also cut them lengthwise to help them hold up to the thinner cut. They made a great dessert, although I think I gave our dinner guest a screwed view of what plantains are SUPPOSED to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My plantains were not as ripe as I had hoped, and I skipped the oil and fried them in margarine and did not add the salt. The salt in the butter offset the sweetness, but I knew that would happen. I skipped the brown sugar, as it seems to cause more problems than it was worth, so I drizzled mine with Smucker's Sugar Free Caramel Sauce - you can find it with the ice cream toppings, and it totally made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was delicious- BUT a word of caution! The brown sugar makes them very sticky and therefore stuck to the paper towel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Super yummy! I waited until the plantains were black...there was even a little mold on one side of the peel. I thought they'd surely be rotten--but OMG those were the BEST plantains ever! So yeah--yucky peel=amazing plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I sliced them lengthwise and used coconut oil rather than peanut. I thought about adding cinnamon, but they were great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houself

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very yummy! Used black plantains & sauteed in non-stick pan sprayed with Pam. Left out the butter & oil to make them healthier. Brown sugar got a bit carmelized, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved this recipe, my plantains were sooo good.. I used canola oil and butter, but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States