Sauteed Sweet Plantains (Tajaditas Dulces de Platano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Saul
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I use granulated pure cane sugar and drizzle maple syrup for dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great recipe. It's simple, so it's flexible. I'm not a huge plantain fan, but had some I needed to get rid of, so I did these ultra sweet. My plantains were extremely ripe, and I cut them about 1/2 inch thick to maximize sugar exposure. I also cut them lengthwise to help them hold up to the thinner cut. They made a great dessert, although I think I gave our dinner guest a screwed view of what plantains are SUPPOSED to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My plantains were not as ripe as I had hoped, and I skipped the oil and fried them in margarine and did not add the salt. The salt in the butter offset the sweetness, but I knew that would happen. I skipped the brown sugar, as it seems to cause more problems than it was worth, so I drizzled mine with Smucker's Sugar Free Caramel Sauce - you can find it with the ice cream toppings, and it totally made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was delicious- BUT a word of caution! The brown sugar makes them very sticky and therefore stuck to the paper towel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Super yummy! I waited until the plantains were black...there was even a little mold on one side of the peel. I thought they'd surely be rotten--but OMG those were the BEST plantains ever! So yeah--yucky peel=amazing plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I sliced them lengthwise and used coconut oil rather than peanut. I thought about adding cinnamon, but they were great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houself

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very yummy! Used black plantains & sauteed in non-stick pan sprayed with Pam. Left out the butter & oil to make them healthier. Brown sugar got a bit carmelized, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved this recipe, my plantains were sooo good.. I used canola oil and butter, but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I took the advice of some others and mixed the sugar and salt into the melted butter (I used only butter), then I fried them over medium heat. Because so many people mentioned that these were sticking to paper towels, I sprayed a cooling rack with non-stick spray and placed that over paper towels and I let the plantains drip. I had no problems with sticking, and these were delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These were delish! Very sweet thou. I waited for my plantain to become ripe (just on black) and now wish I hadn't. It was so ripe as to melt the sugar I sprinkled on immediately. Next time I will try another reviewers idea of adding salt to the sugar. I drained on paper towels but if not removed as quickly as possible the carmelized sugar bonds to the paper. Hint... This morning there was one last little piece left and I popped it into my mouth - yech... cold is not the way to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States