Sauteed Sweet Plantains (Tajaditas Dulces de Platano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I used to live in Panama & am always on the look out for a plantanos recipe similar to that. This was not the same, but was pretty good anyways, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara B.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was my first time preparing plantains. This recipe was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I tried making this recipe in 4 ways: with sugar and without, and sliced vs. quartered. I used canola oil and omitted the salt. The quartered with sugar tasted like one of my favorite restaurant dishes; when sliced, the sweetness of the sugar was overwhelming. Without sugar, quartered tasted like warm bananas. In conclusion, add sugar if you cut the plantains into bigger sections; omit the sugar if it is sliced more thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Amazing! I prepared this ahead of time for convenience and put them into 2 quart-size zipper bags. By the time I wanted to sautee them, the sugar and the moisture from the plantains had turned into a caramel sauce. I used a non-stick pan and omitted the peanut oil. Absolutely delicious! I served with the Cuban Pork Roast and the Corn and Black Bean salad from this site, along with my mango salsa (warmed) to top the pork and some basic Cuban rice for a fabulous meal. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great taste. Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I gave them 4/5 stars because, while they taste really good, I don't think that I will crave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEYAWPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Nice and sweet. Did not use salt. Used a non-stick skillet with 1 Tbsp butter and a little canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Defuniak Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Delicious!! I was playing around with different methods and I wound up putting the sugar directly in the oil/butter, which worked ten times better. i also skipped salt, but they're awesome. i think getting the ripest ones you can is best, but if you can only get the green ones, don't fret, they're still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good recipe. I don't like to fry things but I tried this one recipe and fried it with olive oil, just a little bit so it can brown. I will keep doing this as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
really good - added the brown sugar to the oil in the pan and then fried them. dusted a little salt on them and they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States