Sauteed Sweet Plantains (Tajaditas Dulces de Platano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese Sherman
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
As far as slicing goes, don't slice them into circles - they're not supposed to be like that. Slice the plantain at an angle, a little over 1/2 an inch thick. This makes each slice longer than the width of the plantain. I made 1 plantain, and it really is about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar per plantain. I added the salt into the brown sugar before dipping the plantains, and found this to be better than adding salt afterwards. However, before putting the plantains onto the pan, I gently wiped off excess clumps of sugar. It should really be a thin gooey coat of brown sugar on each plantain prior to placing them on the pan. I kept the heat on medium, and cooked each side until it was very dark brown. As far as the completed texture - it should be soft, but not mushy - and the coat should be nice and gooey and slightly sweet / salty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christieomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Good, but my plantains were not ripe enough. MAKE SURE YOUR PLANTAINS ARE VERY VERY RIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used ripe red bananas (from Ecuador) and these turned out delicious. I served with saffron rice, black beans, and broiled chicken thighs that had been marinated with a cuban marinade. Topped with chopped romaine, mangoes, avocados, and green onions. The bananas were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I was in a rush to cook these so decided to only cut the plantains in quarters. It still tasted good but next time I'll have to slice them 1 inch thick like my grandma used to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Just did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
really good - added the brown sugar to the oil in the pan and then fried them. dusted a little salt on them and they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good recipe. I don't like to fry things but I tried this one recipe and fried it with olive oil, just a little bit so it can brown. I will keep doing this as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Delicious!! I was playing around with different methods and I wound up putting the sugar directly in the oil/butter, which worked ten times better. i also skipped salt, but they're awesome. i think getting the ripest ones you can is best, but if you can only get the green ones, don't fret, they're still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States